Happy New Year 2016

As usual, David and I didn’t do anything special on New Year’s Eve. It seems that, with every passing year, the revelry in our neighborhood is less noisy and less spectacular.  Today, we probably will dine somewhere in town.

These are old photos of the fireworks in my neighborhood in January 2011:

new year-2011-2-aerial-A

new year-2011-1-firecrackers-A

As noted previously, our big holidays are Thanksgiving and Christmas, when my extended family comes here to celebrate with a giant potluck and the viewing of an old family video.

The weather lately has been quite mild, in the 70s. It’s been cool enough for David to wrap his legs with a blanket and for me to wear a light sweater.  But, I bet you would consider this beach weather.

Here’s a photo of me on my ex-boyfriend’s sailboat in 1975, sailing between the Hawaiian islands:

boat-1-A

Happy New Year, everyone!

8 Responses to “Happy New Year 2016”

  1. DJan Says:

    Happy New Year to you and yours, Gigi. 🙂

  2. Olga Says:

    Happy New Year!

  3. Hattie Says:

    We celebrated with our family and set off a bunch of fireworks,but no one stayed up until midnight. The kids were exhausted from swimming and running around all day and we were exhausted from looking after them and feeding them.
    So we will all take it easy today. Happy New Year to you and David!

  4. Christine Says:

    Happy New Year to you and David Gigi!

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    We have just spent our first day of 2016 doing what we usually do. I took photos in the yard, for a blog, we went for a long walk, and right now I’m on my laptop and Tom is reading on his tablet while the Rose Bowl is on TV.
    Happy New Year! Ordinary is good.

  6. dellgirl Says:

    I’m just dropping in, saying hi and hello. I hope you have a wonderful 2016! Happy New Year to you.

  7. Cathy Says:

    Happy New Year To you and your family Gigi. Best wishes for 2016 – it’s going to be good one 🙂

  8. Linda Starr Says:

    I’ve only sailed a couple of times, once in San Francisco bay with a ex boyfriend from Brazil and I remember how relaxing riding on the boat was, your photo reminded me of that evening, happy new year

Leave a Reply

