Canceling this, canceling that

1979-1982-1-a

This is a photo, taken in 1979.  I was 33 years old at the time, and Maria was a year old.  How time flies!

I have canceled my 70th birthday party at Alan Wong’s Restaurant, because I am not feeling well. I guess my fatigue is due to the let-down after hosting large parties on Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I just want to celebrate my birthday with only my husband and no one else.  David wants to take me to the North Shore to have lunch at Haleiwa Joe’s on my birthday.  We’ll see.

***

I have also canceled the appointment to have our windows measured for black out liners. I love our lace drapes too much to ruin the ambiance.  If guests complain about the glare from the windows while watching our family videos, I will advise them to relocate their seats to the other side of the room where there is no glare.

***

David saw his surgeon in late December, and X-rays were taken of both hips. Dr. Nakasone told him that there was only mild arthritis in his hips, so he did not recommend hip replacement surgery at this time.  In his opinion, David’s hip pain is due to spinal stenosis (arthritis of the spine).  David intends to follow up with a different doctor, who specializes in back surgery.

However, Pat told David that her friend has spinal stenosis, too, and bariatric surgery and several back surgeries have not helped her. She still has pain.

12 Responses to “Canceling this, canceling that”

  1. Olga Says:

    Good job listening to your body. Enjoy your birthday.
    I am glad about those curtains–I really, really liked the lace you have now.
    Hip replacements are no walk in the park, but at least they are something that can be done. I wish David well in finding relief.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Nothing has relieved my back pain; I just live with it (of course!) It is very limiting.

  3. DJan Says:

    I have just decided to see a chiropractor for my back pain. Yesterday’s visit, my first, helped some, but it’s still there. I can live with quite a lot of pain, but not happily. I’m glad you canceled your curtains. I had a wonderful birthday without making a big deal over it, so I hope it will be the same for you. And I do hope you are feeling better soon! 🙂

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    That is a lovely photo of you Gigi. Sorry you don’t feel well but that will be very nice to have a celebration just you and David. I hope you will enjoy Haleiwa Joe’s, we had a good time there the two times we went, and each time the food was good and our waitresses were very nice. I had the coconut shrimp both times and it was delicious. Gregg had fish tacos and said the same. We were going to try and go to the Haleiwa Joe’s at Haiku Gardens but it only opens for dinner time so ended up not going. I hope David can get the relief he needs when they figure out what course of action needs to be taken. Feel better soon 🙂

  5. Christine Says:

    Gigi I hope you feel better soon, not the best start to the New Year!

  6. Hattie Says:

    Welcome to the 70s! Maybe you could have more of a celebration later some time. I hope David can find some relief. Chronic pain is no joke.
    My you are pretty in that photo!
    I say it’s up to you whether you have blackout curtains or not!
    Aloha,
    Marianna

  7. dkzody Says:

    Oh, it’s too bad that you had to cancel your celebration, but best to listen to your body. Rest up now and celebrate later.

    I have spinal stenosis. No pain but numbness in my hands if I don’t do my exercises. Physical therapy is the best thing for spinal stenosis. I met with a surgeon when I was first diagnosed and he told me that I was far from needing surgery and perhaps would never need it if I kept doing the exercises and maintained a healthy lifestyle. It’s another reason, besides my wonderful grandchildren, that motivates me to live healthy.

  8. tom sightings Says:

    Sometimes the quiet celebrations are the best celebrations. Hope you feel better soon.

  9. tom sightings Says:

    P.S. Think long and hard before anyone gets back surgery, b/c as you’re apparently finding out, it doesn’t always work. Physical therapy is what cured my back pain (but mine was neck, shoulder and arm, not lower and hip). Best of luck to David.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I loved the 70th birthday party I hosted for myself. It was a lovely garden party fro friends, followed by a dinner picnic for family. But to each his own. Just don’t set yourself for regrets.
    Black out roller shades would hide behind your lace curtains and just be pulled down when needed. I doesn’t have to be either/or.
    My back surgery for spondylolisthesis, which is a kind of stenosis, was very successful.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Hope that you are feeling better soon, Gigi. A small birthday celebration is just as good as a larger one when you are with someone you love.. I hope that you and David enjoy the celebration and that he does get a second opinion.

  12. DeniseinVA Says:

    Hi Gigi, came back to thank you for catching the typo. I have now corrected it and appreciate you letting me know.

Leave a Reply

