Compatible and feeling great

dk-6-A

December 2009:  David and I at d.k. restaurant in Honolulu.

***

I have been walking in my neighborhood lately to get some fresh air and exercise. Then, I take a shower and feel great.

Another way I feel great is by attending a symphony concert at the Blaisdell with David.  We look forward to the next concert, which will feature a percussion concerto.  We are curious about what type of instrument the percussionist will play.  Obviously, not the drums, because drums don’t have melody.  We think it probably will be a xylophone or something similar.

David has been watching a lot of college and professional sports on TV. He is lucky I don’t fight over the TV remote, as I really don’t like television.  He hogs the TV, and that’s perfectly okay with me.  What a lucky guy!  However, if there were a show I wanted to watch, I could go to the guest room and watch the TV there.  No problem!

The funny thing is that even though I don’t watch the games from start to finish, I do know who the main athletes and coaches are. That’s because David likes to talk about sports with me.  He assumes that I am interested in what he has to say, and by golly, I end up learning a lot of useless information about sports.  Useless to me, not to him.

I guess that’s why we are still married. Most of the time, we are quite compatible.

11 Responses to “Compatible and feeling great”

  1. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I’m happy you and your David are so compatible. Sometimes I want to throttle “my” David and I assume he feels the same way. Somehow we have made it through, however.

  2. Hattie Says:

    Kettle drums?

  3. Christine Says:

    great that you are walking Gigi, your post is funny! I feel the same way about sports lol.

  4. Olga Says:

    That is something–to be compatible or at least accommodating and tolerant. Mike and I had very different interests but there were also ways in which we were compatible. It made for a good life. But two televisions was a definite plus!

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I’m very glad to hear that you are walking, and enjoying it!
    I am much more interested in sports than Tom is, but he knows enough that we can talk about it. Neither one of us is a fanatic, except maybe for the Seahawks in the playoffs and the Sounders all of the time.

  6. palolo Says:

    Everyone wishes they were married to a good listener. Gigi people like you are hard to find.

  7. Denise A Gullickson Says:

    I talk with Gregg about football but even though my Dad was an all round athlete in his day, playing football, cricket, boxing, he raised two daughters and back in those days, girls just did not play sport, or was the case in my family. So now poor Gregg has to deal with it. Just like David he will tell me what is going on during a game. I still have ankle and heel problems so have not been able to do a lot of walking since I got home. I walked a lot on holiday with the help of pain medication and I can’t wait to get back to my walking for exercise. I miss it.

  8. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    My husband & myself adore Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos enjoyed living there for about 6 years for me and 8 for my husband we were not married when he lived there, it was pristine, not so much anymore..We each have a tv, I hike and bike and walk my hubs enjoys his new tv..We meet half way, I cook meals so he can relax and enjoy his athletic tv stuff! I am more a people person to a point, I must get out and enjoy nature if it is dry and lovely which it has been 14 months in our tiny city in Washington state I garden or clean up the huge yard, I bike most places and use public transportation as I don’t drive whatsoever, I think nature a great healer of anything in one’s life, my husband loves to travel by car so I go along and enjoy the oceans and the mountains..one has to have enough in common to enjoy one’s marriage but not so much it suffocates the other person, that is my philosophy..Enjoy heaven on earth in Hawaii, I would be out and about there working in a garden and biking all over the place..aloha happy Asian new Year the Fire Monkey on February 8 2016 too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Tom Sightnigs Says:

    You’re right about one thing: David is a lucky guy!

  10. Beatrice Says:

    Walking is something we do, everywhere here in Nashua, NH. Living so close to the center of the city and the library and stores make it so convenient. There’s also so many dining choices — too many! As for sports, I am not a fan at all and Pat watches some football but I never ask him to share info on a game and thankfully he doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

