Good news, bad news

Diamond Head-4-A

View of Diamond Head on the island of Oahu.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

I saw my internist on Wednesday for my regular 6 month check-up.

The good news is that I don’t have to take medication for cholesterol, which is slightly elevated. I was told to lower it via diet (reducing the amount of carbs and fat daily).  I should also lose weight via portion control.

The bad news is that I now have been diagnosed with asthma. I wondered why I kept coughing and wheezing.  So, the doctor prescribed an inhaler, which cost me $47.00.  Arrrrgh!  Why is medicine so expensive, even with insurance?  Unfortunately, there is no generic for this inhaler.

After the appointment with the doctor, I felt relieved that I don’t have cancer, heart disease, or diabetes.

I guess I can be grateful for that, if nothing else.

11 Responses to “Good news, bad news”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    recently we were coughing a lot and we discovered out the filters on our heat unit needed to be replaced. After a couple of days we are not coughing any longer.

    To reduce his cholesterol Gary eats oatmeal for breakfast with cinnamon both of which are supposed to help reduce cholesterol and also he takes Colest-off which he gets in the vitamin section which is a plant derivative which also reduces cholesterol and is a natural item and not a drug.

    hope you don’t have to use the inhaler long term. Gary used to use an inhaler but weaned himself off of it, they have lots of side effects and I think the lungs get dependent upon them.

  2. DJan Says:

    I take cholesterol medication since high cholesterol runs in my family. But I don’t seem to have any side effects from it. All my siblings take it, too. I see my doctor for my annual wellness visit next month. I’ll be interested to see what my numbers are. 🙂

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    With Linda, I think you would do well to locate the cause of your asthma, and use the inhaler as little as possible.

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Sounds all too familiar. I take Singulaire for my breathing issue. This problem got better with weight loss.

  5. Christine Says:

    oops about the asthma Gigi, how can you just develop that after all these years?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I don’t know. Six months ago, I saw the same doctor, but she did not hear anything wrong with her stethoscope. However, I have had coughing and breathing problems occasionally for many years.

  6. Hattie Says:

    Gigi: I’m so sorry to hear this. Be sure to breathe clean air and drink plenty of water. And the co-pay is ridiculous.

  7. Olga Says:

    I am glad you had good news to temper the bad, at least somewhat.

  8. Tom Sightnigs Says:

    Thank god for your little problems.

  9. DeniseinVA Says:

    so sorry to hear about the asthma and the pharmaceuticals are ridiculously over the top prices.

  10. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Oh dear, I understand your frustration with the asthma and with the cost. I’m on several lung meds an am fortunately covered by a good drug insurance plan. I hope you will only need the one and it is helpful — and relieved the rest of your report was a good one.

Leave a Reply

