Fraud

koolau-2011-3-A

Photos I took at Home Depot.

koolau-2011-2-A

Last week, David received an email from Visa that his credit card had been fraudulently used to purchase merchandise from Gucci, Macy’s, and other high priced stores in Hawaii. He was shocked, because his card had not been stolen, and it also had an electronic chip to prevent fraud.  Long story short, he contacted Visa, had his charges reversed, and received a new card in the mail.

We wonder how anyone could use David’s card fraudulently, when it had an electronic chip on it.

Our former tenant told us that his debit card account had been hacked, and all of his money in the bank was stolen. Thankfully, he was able to have his money refunded.

Boy, this type of fraud gives me the willies. What else could possibly go wrong with your life?

15 Responses to “Fraud”

  1. Linda Starr Says:

    did you use your cards to make an internet purchase ? can you do that with a card that has a chip? seems the criminal have more knowledge about credit cards than do the companies providing the credit; I used one of my cards once over the internet and it was hacked, Penny’s didn’t ask for the three digit code on the back of the card so they had to eat the charge, also I now have a bofa charge on my credit report that isn’t mine, ugh it’s a constant vigil.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I’m thankful the credit card companies work at preventing fraud; for instance, contacting David.

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I had my wallet lifted right out of my purse when I was shopping at Whole Foods. I discovered the card was missing when I went to pay for groceries. Drove home, called the credit card companies, and discovered the theif had already gassed up two big vehicles. The credit card company went after them and hopefully got them thanks to my speedy reporting of the theft and hidden cameras. These days there are cameras everywhere so you better watch out.

  4. DJan Says:

    I haven’t been hacked… yet. But I do worry about it all the time, too. Glad you were able to get your money back from those purchases the thief made.

  5. Kay G. Says:

    Oh no, I hate that happened, but think of the folks who don’t find out until much later! I think they have even bigger problems. Glad it got sorted out, take a deep breath! Aloha! xx

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    While the chip is supposed to made card more secure, just as soon as something new is invented, so is the ability to hack it. I use credit cards on line all of the time, and we purchase almost everything by credit card. So far we’ve been lucky. It could happen to any of us.

  7. Olga Says:

    I have been notified a number of times about things like records being hacked at Target or HomeGoods. Even though my card itself was not used fraudulently, I got a new card each time. A small inconvenience versus having the credit card company err on the side of caution. I was one time notified and issued a new card when the credit card company got a charge that was not within my use profile–more on a single purchase of make-up products than I have probably spent on make-up in my entire life time. Again, the complete lack of privacy vis-a-vis my spending habits versus protection. I have to go with the protection.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    That’s a sad state of affairs but we have had our credit card number stolen before and even once our bank was hacked into so had to receive new credit cards. I also know of someone who had $30,000 taken out of their bank account but fortunately the bank refunded their money. It’s a new world! Cyber crimes are added into the mix now.

    • dkzody Says:

      I have learned that every company has a fraud department. I’ve talked with many of these departments. Imagine, a whole industry built around illegal activity.

  9. Christine Says:

    Lucky they caught it so very scary. Maybe David should get one of those rfid wallets. Maybe it happened in a restaurant when you paid.

  10. Beatrice Says:

    Indeed it is a sad state of affairs when a thief can cause so much grief, but glad the credit card companies refunded the fraudulent charges. We also try to be so careful when making purchases online or in stores..but it seems thieves can be much more save and determined these days.

  11. Stephanie Faris Says:

    I had mine stolen recently and, in addition to that, I write about credit cards for some of my clients so I know far too much about this stuff! Did he use the card online anywhere? If so, I’m guessing that’s the place. I don’t think credit card data is even stored on the servers of the stores where we shop in person anymore, with these new cards. But so many retailers are still having us swipe because they haven’t gone to the new chip-based (EMV) technology, it’s possible it was stolen when he used it at one of those places. If it can be traced back to that location, that store will be responsible for paying for the fraud instead of the credit card company because they haven’t put the new chip readers in their stores. And we use a credit card and just pay them off every week for that very reason. I had mine stolen (online from Shutterfly) and someone charged $2,500 in just a few hours on gift cards at fast food restaurants in another part of the country. Had it been a debit card, I would have had to wait several days for them to put the $2,500 back in my bank account. Yikes!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  12. Tom Sightings Says:

    A similar thing happened to me abt 2 years ago … thankfully, Visa came to the rescue.

  13. dkzody Says:

    I’ve had the credit card companies notify me of my card being used in unusual ways and were able to stop it. I still had the cards so knew there was no actual theft.

    However, the scariest came when I found that someone had stolen my identity with all of my info (ss number and birth date) and had opened credit accounts all over the place. That took some time to shut down. I now have a fraud alert account that lets me know any time my credit info is checked. Caught one a few months ago. I was able to notify Amazon that it was not me and to shut it down. They did. A fraud alert is the best thing to have.

  14. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Hi Gigi, it’s nice to check in again with you! I’m so sorry about the fraud — I’m glad it was all spotted and remedied but it is very disconcerting to have that happen to you. My credit union is very good about contacting me with odd purchases (usually mine!) and I really appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

