Vacation plans

hibiscus-bloom-A

Hibiscus in our garden.

David and I have made the necessary reservations for air, room and car for a 4 night trip to San Francisco in May. We are looking forward to a relaxing vacation away from the tropics.

The last time we were in San Francisco was in 1996, so it’s been 20 years.

Prior to that, I resided in San Francisco between September-December in 1968, employed as a medical secretary at UCSF Medical Center. I remember how cold, wet and foggy it was.

I think the best time to visit San Francisco is in May, when the sky is blue and it’s sunny, but cool. Gorgeous weather!  I hope it’s like that when we’re there next May.

I have purchased a second digital camera as well as an Asus laptop computer and will take both with me on our trip.  More than likely, I will take photos and post them on my blog.

David will take his video camera, too. It will be nice to add footage of our vacation in San Francisco to our 2016 family video.

12 Responses to “Vacation plans”

  1. DJan Says:

    That sounds like a very good time to visit San Francisco. It has changed a great deal since I lived in California. I wonder if I would recognize it. I look forward to your pictures. 🙂

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Your hibiscus is beautiful. Mine is still waiting for spring.
    I haven’t visited San Francisco since 1980. It cannot be the same, I’m sure.

  3. Christine Says:

    Wonderful news Gigi it sounds like it will be fun!

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    What a lovely trip that’s going to be. I didn’t realize you had lived there for a while. A great city to spend some time. Your hibiscus is gorgeous!

  5. dkzody Says:

    We lived in SF 2009-2011. It has changed drastically in those few years since we left. Rents have skyrocketed and more tall buildings have been built. Are you staying in the city proper? Although we no longer have our apartment there, we often stay in San Mateo and take BART into the city.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, we will be staying near Union Square. Looking forward to boarding the cable car there and having lunch at Fisherman’s Wharf. We also want to drive to the wine country and other areas outside the city.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    San Francisco is a fun city to visit.

  7. Cathy Says:

    I enjoy reading about other’s travels so look forward to yours on San Francisco ( one place we’ve never been 🙂

  8. Hattie Says:

    City where I was born!

  9. palolo Says:

    Have fun in the Golden City.

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Nice short hop from Honolulu. Those long flights are harder and harder.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Sounds like you have your itinerary all worked out and you sure will be busy within that 4-day timeframe.

Leave a Reply

