Two trips coming up

Guest room 001-A

Lisa is staying in our guest room until Sunday, when she will fly to Sydney, Australia for a one week vacation.  She will return to Hawaii for a night and then fly back to Nevada, where she resides.

If her vacation in Sydney turns out to be an interesting one, David and I might do something similar next year. I especially want to see the exotic animals, such as the koala bear, the kangaroo, and the Tasmanian Devil.

Our trip to San Francisco in May is shaping up nicely. We have invited a blog friend, dkzody, and her husband to lunch at our hotel.  Do click on her name on my blog roll to see what a fine person she is.  She is a retired high school teacher and now volunteers as a chaplain at an elementary school in Fresno.  It will be great to meet her and her husband in person.

Last night, David bought two tickets for the tour to Alcatraz Island, located in San Francisco Bay. We will ride the boat to Alcatraz and will be able to see the prison which housed so many criminals.  Do you remember the movie, “Birdman of Alcatraz,” starring Burt Lancaster?  I’ll remember that movie when we tour the prison.

I discovered that the island is hilly and akin to walking up a 13 floor building, which would be difficult for David.  Because he has a card that certifies he is physically handicapped, he will be permitted to ride the SEAT, a motorized vehicle, to the prison.  However, since I don’t qualify, I will have to walk the distance.

10 Responses to “Two trips coming up”

  1. DJan Says:

    I follow dkzody, too. She’s in Fresno which is south of San Francisco. It’s really nice to meet blog friends in person, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    Lots of fun things coming up! How nice you will meet with Delaine!

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Good luck with the walking. I will look forward to your excursion.

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    I will have to look at dkzody’s blog after I leave here. Your trips sound exciting. I love San Francisco but have never been to Alcatraz. I didn’t realize it was such a hike. Sydney sounds wonderful, always wanted to go there too. How lovely that you have Lisa staying with you. I shall also be very interested in her travels.

  5. dkzody Says:

    All of San Francisco is hilly and some of the streets in the city are quite steep. I’ve never had a desire to visit Alcatraz as one must take a boat to get there. I don’t take a boat of any kind to go anywhere. If the trip involves water, I decline.

    Terry and I visit San Francisco quite often. We lived there for 15 months, and I would love to live there again, but the rents are prohibitive for a retired school teacher. I am looking forward to seeing Gigi in May and exploring a few places in downtown San Francisco as that is where we will be meeting her and David. It is fun to meet, in real time, the people you’ve met online. Especially when we get to do it in a favorite city of ours!

  6. Hattie Says:

    I was born in SF and lived in various places in the Bay Area until I moved away with my husband in 1964, right after we got married. There are things about it I still recognize, but for the most part it is a different place.
    Alcatraz was a working prison when I lived there. I’ve never visited it.

  7. Beatrice Says:

    Sounds like a couple of wonderful trips will be coming up for your family. And, I agree, that meeting blogger friends face-to-face is always such a treat.

  8. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I dated a fellow whose brother worked in Alcatraz, it was interesting from his point of view..The city is lovely but as expensive as NYC where our only lives, she has a great job offer but likes to live solo and would have to live outside the city a big minus in her book even with the BART and great public transportation, the commute would be a long time in her work day we shall see..I adored sf when I lived in California not so much now, too much crime and the weather is up and down just like the hills of the city..Food is heaven on earth but pricey and one must have reservations for everything..A nice place to visit once in one’s life not so much as a living city, priced out of most peoples incomes/retirements/only young wealthy people can afford anything, tourist industry number one for their income of money and I don’t like to spend that kind of money..aloha!

  9. Olga Says:

    I have been to San Francisco a couple of times, but only as day trips. Once Mike and I went, but his idea of visiting any city is to drive straight on through as quickly as possible. On the other hand, we spent lots of time in the mountains of northern California and it was spectacular.

Leave a Reply

