He loves to read the obituaries

10-13-11-3-pink hibiscus-A

Hawaii:  Hibiscus.

As usual, David loves to read the obituaries in the newspaper.

David: “Look, this guy died at 82, way too young.”

Me: “Well, how old will you be when you die?”

David: “Just google Life Expectancy Calculator and answer the questions.  This website says that you will live to 93.  I will die at 88.  Since you are 3 years older, you will be alone for 2 years.”

Me: “I will outlive you by 2 years?”

David: “That’s correct.  The website also states that if I lose 30 lbs, I will live 2 years longer.”

Me: “Hmmm.  I am obese, too.”

David: “That’s what puzzles me.  You are obese, but you will still die at 93, whereas I am going to die at 88.”

Me: “Well, I just hope you and I will be okay until the very end.  I don’t want us to have a debilitating illness such as dementia.”

David: “Dementia is the worst condition to have.  I wouldn’t be able to balance my checkbook or even fry an egg.”

Me: “Ah, well, let’s hope for the best.  I am glad we have many more years of happy living ahead of us.”

11 Responses to “He loves to read the obituaries”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    And this is the reason, I never look online for this information. I would rather not know ahead of time.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    It’s difficult not to read the obituaries when you come to them.

  3. DJan Says:

    I like to read the obits, too. It is like meeting someone I didn’t know before. 🙂

  4. Olga Says:

    Here’s to a long and happy life.

  5. Hattie Says:

    I read in the obits in our paper today that “Uncle Billy,” William Kimi Jr. died at the age of 93. He enjoyed every minute of his long life. He was even chatting up and trying to date my aunt when she last visited here, in Kailua at the tourist complex he owned. He was in a wheelchair, he said, not because he couldn’t walk but because it was just more comfortable than walking.

  6. Hattie Says:

    Oh, actually it wasn’t in the obits; it was on the front page. He was quite a presence on the Big Island, with two hotels and other holdings as well.

  7. Christine Says:

    you guys are funny!

  8. dellgirl Says:

    What a wonderful sense of humor the two of you have. That’s so refreshing. This reminds me of a convo hubby and I had years ago about where we (each) want to be buried.

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    A conversation we all have at one time for another. Let’s just hope we all “will be okay until the very end.”

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    You and David have some interesting conversations. I don’t read obituaries but Gregg does. He likes learning about people and their history.

  11. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Here’s to your long and happy lives.

Leave a Reply

