The best of both worlds

This was me in 1968, getting a tan on San Souci Beach in Honolulu, Hawaii.  I enjoyed going to the beach every weekend:

swimsuit-22 yrs old-A

And this was me in 1973 with my dog, Lani, in front of my apartment building in New York City.  I was a graduate student at Columbia University, studying musicology:

lani-a

Well, which photo do you prefer? Obviously, the first photo seems more idyllic.

If I could afford it, I would keep my house in Hawaii and buy a condominium in New York City. Then, I would have the best of both worlds:  the sunshine and greenery of Hawaii, and the art and music of New York City.

As I said, I wish I could afford it. Winning a billion dollars would help.

9 Responses to “The best of both worlds”

  1. Olga Says:

    Well, best of luck with that winning a billion dollars plan! In the meantime, enjoy the idyllic life.

  2. DJan Says:

    Hawaii, of course. It’s almost paradise. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    You are so pretty Gigi!

  4. Beatrice Says:

    The first photo of you is lovely, Gigi, and obviously much more revealing than the second one. Do you still enjoy sitting in the sun? And, you might need a bit more $$ to live in NYC these days 🙂

  5. Kay G. Says:

    Let’s see…I was 11 in 1968…and I don’t think I would even wear a two piece at THAT age! HA! Lovely photos, my friend! And if you ever get that condo in NYC, let me know…I would ask to visit you all the time!!

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    I go for sunshine over snow every time.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    Lovely photos, even the one with such a big heavy coat. What it is to be young and not worry about such things as too much sun. I was never able to stand lying on the beach. I always got too hot, and then I would get bored and have to go do something.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Winter in New York when the shows are on all over the city is grand. I am an indoor city mouse myself. Hate the heat of summer.

Leave a Reply

