Akaka Falls

In 2011, David and I traveled to the Big Island of Hawaii.  We loved seeing the famous Akaka Falls outside the city of Hilo.

Akaka Falls:

IMG_0915

IMG_0916

Some of the foliage:

IMG_0908

IMG_0925

After viewing Akaka Falls, I had such a difficult time climbing these stairs, which seemed endless.  At the top was the parking lot, and I arrived there hot and sweaty, with a beet red face:

IMG_0923

Driving away from the falls, we saw the Pacific Ocean in the distance:

IMG_0926

It’s nice to pause and remember the good times in our lives, isn’t it?

8 Responses to “Akaka Falls”

  1. Olga Says:

    Most primordial looking. I love waterfalls, something enrancing about them.

  2. Christine Says:

    It is a lovely pause.

  3. DJan Says:

    Those stairs do look rather intimidating. The ones we did yesterday were much steeper and numerous; I hate to stop in the middle to rest. And yes, I love to think about the good times in my life. 🙂

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    I have a friend who just got back from a vacation in Hawaii. She tells me it’s paradise. I think you’re proving her right!

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Water and foliage are pleasant to the eyes. The ears may take a beating, and it’s been a probably four years since I climbed a serious set of steps.

  6. Linda Starr Says:

    wow those are tall falls, I would have been beet red too, ha our driveway here is very steep and I have to rest on the way up.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    A lovely waterfall! Years ago we went to Maui and flew over to the Big Island for a day. We missed this. Another reason to come back 🙂

  8. Beatrice Says:

    Those stairs would have tired me out as well, but then one had to get back to the parking lot.

Leave a Reply

