Happiness is contagious

David waters the ferns every other day. That’s the neighbor’s laundry, hanging next door.  We prefer to use an electric dryer for our laundry.

Watering the ferns 002-A

We have been having great barbecue weather. It has been quite cool lately, in the 60s and 70s.  People have been talking about the drought here in Hawaii, but I see no evidence of it in my area.  It rains quite a bit once or twice a week.

Yesterday, David barbecued steaks in our patio, and I added a pasta salad and a green salad to the meal. Great taste!

BBQ 001-A

BBQ 008-A

BBQ 006-A

BBQ 004-A

I don’t drink alcohol anymore. David has also cut back on his alcoholic intake, drinking just three beers per week.  You don’t need alcohol to have fun or to relax.  Being sober has its benefits, primarily clear thinking.  Alcohol fogs up my brain, and I don’t like it.

This is so ironic, because David assembled a new wine glass cabinet in January. We then purchased wine glasses to fill this cabinet.  Well, we do have large parties every year, and wine does get consumed.  Some of the glasses can be used for non-alcoholic beverages, too.

wine glass cabinet 004-A

Happiness is contagious! We are having a great time in Hawaii.

9 Responses to “Happiness is contagious”

  1. DJan Says:

    I have a glass of wine every night for my health. Just one, though. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    Loving your life!

  3. Olga Says:

    That’s great. It’s all a state of mind, isn’t it.

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I gave lo my liquor glasses away. Thosesreakslook great, but we seldom eat beef anymore.

  5. Kay G. Says:

    I love your life in Hawaii and I thank you for sharing your happiness with us!
    I also hardly drink alcohol anymore, I had some wine at Christmas and a very small glass of sherry when it was very cold and that has been all. I need my calories for food!! LOL. xx

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    A lovely series of photos. Your meal looked delicious. I can understand you not drinking alcohol because it makes you a bit fuzzy. I wouldn’t like that feeling either. I stopped with one glass of wine years ago when I felt the same way. Those lovely refreshing cocktails in Hawaii, you couldn’t even taste the alcohol in them, but they were so refreshing. I just told Gregg that we needed to get some beer in stock as my brother-in-law from Germany will be visiting us soon, next month and he likes one with his evening meal. I am so excited! He hasn’t been to the States in 20 years.

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    Those steaks look delicious. I rarely drink anything anymore, either. Alcohol used to be fun; now it just makes me tired and gives me a headache.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    We have a wine bottle rack which stays fairly full as we rarely drink as well. Your dinner looks lovely, simple ad the salads are quite colorful too. Nice that you have great outdoor cooking weather year round, Gigi. We do miss not being able to BBQ now with apt living.

  9. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    We don’t consume alcohol sparking cider is our drink for festivities..Alcoholism runs in both of our family it was put before our food and our living expenses..My dad went to pieces on alcohol after my mother his wife’s early death..We were taken from him and he got sober and married again never to see us ever again..I hate what alcohol did to him my husbands family is ridled with alcohol abuse and drug abuse we don’t even see or speak to any of his siblings after his Mom died 16 years ago..My family since I married I have never seen or heard from them thank God for that..Alcohol ruins a lot of lives and I mean ruins a lot of lives, to put it before your kids food, rent/mtg, utilities, clothing everything is totally disasterous! Your dinner looked mighty lovely and yummy, aloha in the most beautiful state of all of the USA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

