Birthdays and music

waikoloa-flamingos-2-A

Hilton Waikoloa, Big Island of Hawaii, 2011.

waikoloa-flamingos-1-A

David and I enjoy the Hawaii Symphony concerts. We heard a Spanish themed concert last night at the Blaisdell.

We also have decided to buy season tickets to next season’s operas: “La Boheme,” “A Streetcar Named Desire,” and “Tales of Hoffman.”  We are especially interested in “Streetcar,” because the music was composed by Andre Previn and we have never seen or heard it performed.  As you know, “Streetcar” was a play written by Tennessee Williams.

Recently, David celebrated his birthday by taking advantage of the free breakfast for senior birthday people at Anna Miller’s Restaurant.  Focus on the word “free.”  I paid for my omelet and coffee, whereas he got a farmer’s breakfast for free, simply because it was his birthday.  That made David very happy.  The deal is that you have to apply for a Senior Club card, first.  You qualify if you are 62 years old or over.

Later, we celebrated my sister-in-law’s birthday at 53 By The Sea Restaurant. It’s my favorite restaurant because of the beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head:

Valentine's Day 2016 009-A

You can consider your birthday in either of two ways:  (1) You are one year closer to death, or (2) You are one of the chosen few to make it to another year.

7 Responses to “Birthdays and music”

  1. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Not sure being among the chosen is the best thing, unless you have your health.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    that is a great view

  3. Christine Says:

    Ah the good life Gigi, I like the number 2 choice

  4. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    If a person is on the terra firma what is not to enjoy..Considering we will all pass from this life, why not look upon birthdays as special..I like to think I got to live far longer than my Mom but my Grammie was nearing 95 and held on since I was with her, she was wise and loving to me the other family members she was not too loving and kind..they tormented her my aunt specifically they never got along and my aunt never forgot it at all…I prayed they would reconcile but it did not happen, but saying that my aunt bought a home for her mother my grammie and bought food, clothing and other necessities and I mean a nice home and nice food and things, no matter what my aunt footed the bill, when she passed my aunt had a breakdown it was sad to see and hear, I have never treated anyone like the way my aunt and gramme did to each other..It is just not right, but something instigated such treatment no one would speak of it, my Mom and other relatives were passed on by the time my grammie and aunt were in contention..it makes me want to treat others well…aloha in your lovely paradise, happy birthday greetings to your husband..aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. DJan Says:

    Happy birthday, David! We all have them, some more than others. I am grateful to have made it to here in good health. 🙂

  6. Olga Says:

    That is a beautiful view. Happy Birthday to David.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    A nice way to celebrate a birthday. Enjoyed the photos, great view of Diamond Head. I would choose No. 2.

Leave a Reply

