Between his arthritis and my colitis…

west Oahu 002-B

Hawaii.

I have been having a bout of colitis lately and had to miss a symphony concert last night for that reason. I plan to schedule a colonoscopy in April, because there is nothing going on that month.  My father died of colon cancer, so colitis is not to be taken lightly.  I just hope I can go on my trip to San Francisco in May without worrying about the next bout.

There are so many depressing things going on in my life right now. I believe that if I can achieve some peace of mind and calm my nerves, my colitis will eventually go into remission.  It has in the past.

Laughter would help, too. A good, hearty laugh can take the place of a prayer any day.

I am glad that I am married to David.  Not only is he a good husband, he also is a good companion.  What would I do without him?

Between his arthritis and my colitis, boy, aren’t we a happy couple?

12 Responses to “Between his arthritis and my colitis…”

  1. DJan Says:

    I could give you a litany of my own bodily complaints, but I agree with you: laughter is the best medicine. For me I find it doesn’t do to concentrate on my ills but take care of them, as you will be doing with the colonoscopy. Sending you both wishes for lots of laughter in your future. 🙂

  2. Olga Says:

    You are so right–might as well laugh.

  3. Linda Starr Says:

    oh yes, same in this household, Gary arthritis and me celiac disease and lately both of my knees are bad, it’s not picnic getting old. Hope all is well and trip to SF without incident.

  4. cmlk79 Says:

    So sorry you had to miss your concert, oh no. Stress does play a part in flare ups I believe.

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Just keep moving.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    We are both fortunate to have life partners to share activities with, and to share our aches and pains with too.

  7. Beatrice Says:

    While I do think that laughter may help in times of stress, Gigi, your recent colitis bout didn’t seem like much of a laughing matter. But I also know that prayer does help soothe and comfort many.

  8. Keith Alfred Wynn Says:

    Ism so sorry to hear about these recent bouts with health issues. You will both be in my thoughts!

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    Sorry to hear of your problems (colonoscopy sounds like a good idea) but look at the bright side. You could be having all these problems but instead of being in Hawaii you could … be in Buffalo!

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    It is great that you both have each other. Sorry to hear of the colitis and hope you will get some relief really soon.

  11. Kay G. Says:

    Go ahead and laugh, it does you good and good to everyone around you. xx

  12. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Hopefully David makes you laugh.

Leave a Reply

