Beautiful and peaceful Hawaii

Kauai, 2008, golf, us-1-A

David and I on a golf course, Kauai, 2008.

I am fortunate to live on a quiet street, where there is very little traffic. No buses, no motorcycles, no ambulances, no fire trucks, and no police cars.  And my neighborhood is in a suburb of Honolulu, not way out in the boonies.  It takes just twenty minutes to drive to the Blaisdell Concert Hall, where we attend concerts and operas once or twice per month.

I used to live in New York City during the 1970s. The plumbing in my apartment was just awful.  I would turn on the faucet and orange water would flow out.  At first, I thought it was someone’s urine.  Then, I realized it was rust from the pipes.  I had to let it run for a few seconds, and when the water turned clear, I could brush my teeth.

We don’t have that problem here in Hawaii, because the buildings are relatively new and modern. My house was built in 1963.  No rusty water here.

Best of all, the air in Hawaii is clean. I remember the smog in Los Angeles, Bangkok, and Hong Kong, and how difficult it was to breathe.  I understand that it’s even worse in Beijing.

How lucky I am to live in beautiful and peaceful Hawaii.

7 Responses to “Beautiful and peaceful Hawaii”

  1. DJan Says:

    I love where I live, too. You are fortunate to have such a great place. 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    Very lucky indeed!

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You are fortunate. Our water mains bring water from DC to Arlington. They were laid down in the nineteenth century. Rather than rust, we deal with calcium buildup which can eventually block a pipe and cause it to burst.

  4. Beatrice Says:

    It’s nice when people can enjoy where they live because if they didn’t, I can imagine how unhappy they would be all the time.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    We live on a quiet street too and considering all the traffic on the freeways we feel very fortunate. Half an hour one way we are in the city. Half an hour the other way we are in the Shenandoahs.

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Rain we have here in Washington state a lot, however last year from 2014 to and thru 2015 it was the hottest year in all of their recorded rain history and weather history, it has been raining, but WARM, I got a rebate from our pud and I jammed up my sink brand new with dry mashed spuds, don’t ever put that down your drain you will have to call a plumber to have it removed, it cost me more than my rebate from the pud which is a cooperative electric, gas and water system..We get our drinking water from pristine lakes and the water is great..I feel for those in Detroit the mayor and governor surely knew something was awry and to poison innocent people and tiny ones is unconsiable of course they did not drink that water, shame on them, Hawaii is a heaven on earth as far as I am concerned,, people live longer, true family relations and great living and sun and wind and the sea, oh how I wished I had the means to join my friends again in the most lovely of all states, aloha, happy easter, hope you are feeling much much better! prayers for a quick quick end to your health concerns.aloha

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    I also lived in NYC in the 1970s. I had a few other problems, like everything was expensive and I lived in a tiny apt. and had a few brushes with crime. But I never had a problem with the water … they say NYC water is the best there is! (P. S. Crime has gone way down in NYC since the ’70s … altho’ the prices have not.)

Leave a Reply

