Canceled my trip to San Francisco

hwn mem pk-2011-1-A

Kaneohe, Hawaii.

I have decided not to travel to San Francisco in May because of my colitis.

This means that I will be unable to have lunch with my blog friend, dkzody, and her husband at my hotel. However, we can always meet here in Hawaii if they choose to travel across the Pacific Ocean.

This is the second consecutive year that I have had to cancel my vacation abroad. Last year, I did not see my daughter graduate in Las Vegas because of my colitis, and this year, I realized that it is best not to travel to San Francisco because of my condition.

It remains to be seen whether I will ever travel again.

Ah, well, I have many pleasant memories of traveling around the world, both solo as well as with David. It’s nice to dwell on the pleasant past.

9 Responses to “Canceled my trip to San Francisco”

  1. DJan Says:

    So sorry to hear this news, Gigi. I hope you will be able to travel in the future. 😦

  2. Christine Says:

    Gigi so sorry to hear you had to cancel.

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    After a while as we age, travel becomes difficult for most of us. I for one am tired of reading about happy peppy seniors who envy the odds. Far better to bloom where you are planted.

  4. Linda Starr Says:

    so sorry you have to cancel, may I suggest you try a gluten free diet, it may help. at any rate it is worth a try and there is nothing to loose and only something to gain, our food is not what it used to be, I recently read and article that even some chocolates have lead and cadmium in them, ugh is anything safe any longer.

  5. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Maybe your friends and family will travel to Hawaii to see you? Think positively, I would travel to Hawaii to see you in a heartbeat if I had the means, it is a paradise on this earth & you seem like a wonderful kind and loving human being..Sometimes when things happen there is something better coming into ones life..We have tried to see tulips at a well known festival up north for many years, we either went when it was swamped or it rained like in Noah’s arc, we did not like that instead traveled north to Bellingham and beyond and had wonderful trips we could never imagined, one door closes and a window opens to better and spectacular days, I will pray your health gets 100% percent better or something spectacular happens to make you even happiers, aloha! happy easter, Passover is next month the days whirl by, aloha in paradise!

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    You and David have made many wonderful memories with your traveling Gigi. I am so sorry that you won’t be going to San Francisco but at this point it seems wise and you know your body and what it can handle. Do hope you get relief from this flare up soon. I will send many healing thoughts your way.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    That is sad news, but you are right to consider your health and what pleasure you could get out of traveling when you could have a flare up.
    We don’t know how much traveling we will do in the future either. Hopefully we have a few more trips in us, but if not, we have had some wonderful travel adventures.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    While canceling your travel plans is unfortunate, Gigi, it’s better that you know ahead kf time what could turn out to be a difficult trip. Perhaps, you will be able to travel later.

  9. Olga Says:

    Sorry that you had to cancel travel plans, but it is awful to travel if you are not feeling tip-top. I have heard from people I know who suffer from colitis that gluten-free does help. I do hope you find something that brings relief!

Leave a Reply

