I am such an idiot

Rylan 001-A

My grandson came over, because he had a low grade fever and could not attend school. Rylan never fails to cheer me up.  I love him so much.  I keep telling him that he is my favorite grandson, because he is my ONLY grandson.

Anyway, Maria brought a small bag of cookies. Julia had made them the day before as part of a cooking contest at home with her younger brother.  The secret ingredient was peanut butter.  Rylan made a peanut butter dip for veggies, his very own recipe.  Julia made peanut butter cookies with chocolate chips.  I don’t remember who won.  But, Maria thought David and I would enjoy Julia’s cookies.

After lunch, I saw three cookies in the bag. I wondered why Maria had given us only three.  Why not four so that David would have two cookies and I would have two.  Well, I gave David one cookie and I ate the remaining two.  They were delicious.

As I was washing the lunch dishes, Rylan came up to me and asked, “Where are the cookies?”

Me: “Grandpa and I ate them.”

Rylan: “Oh, I thought one was for me.”

Me: “So, that’s why your mom gave us three cookies.  One was for me, one was for Grandpa, and one was for you.  I’m sorry, Rylan.  I didn’t know better.  I should have given you a cookie.”

Rylan: “That’s okay, Grandma.  I had cookies yesterday.”

Me: “I am such an idiot, Rylan.  I am so sorry.”

Rylan walked away, and I finished washing the dishes.

Sometimes, I wonder where my brain is.

7 Responses to “I am such an idiot”

  1. DJan Says:

    That’s funny, Gigi. I’m sure you enjoyed it and it gave you some fodder for a post! 🙂

  2. dkzody Says:

    I’m surprised you were able to devour those cookies without your grandson knowing you were eating them. My grandkids can hear cookies from two rooms away!

  3. cmlk79 Says:

    Oh Gigi, that’s funny, they must have been good!

  4. Olga Says:

    Oh, You ate your grandson’s cookie…your favorite grandson to boot! My grandson would not have been so forgiving. LOL

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    That is a cute story. Loved it! Cookies and children go together don’t they? My niece’s little girl loves her Grandma’s cookie jar.

  6. Beatrice Says:

    Cute story, Gigi, but I beg to differ with the post title because you are certainly NOT an idiot and Ryland would not begrudge you and David for eating the cookies.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Oh, I am sure you felt badly. No, you are not an idiot.

Leave a Reply

