Not doing well

This is a photo of my potluck party on Thanksgiving 2015.  Pat is the blonde sitting in the front row:

DSC00789-C-A

I am not doing very well. Mentally, I am still grieving over the loss of my sister-in-law, Pat, who died at the scene of a traffic accident on April 8.  It is so hard to believe that she will no longer participate in my potluck parties.  I wish she would return to life.  What makes it so difficult for me is the fact that she died on the street, surrounded by strangers, rather than on her bed, surrounded by her family.

Physically, I am being treated for colitis. My colonoscopy on Thursday was not a good one.  The gastroenterologist told me that my colon looks worse than it did five years ago.  A precancerous polyp was removed.  He prescribed new medication, and I hope it works.

As we age and become elderly, more loved ones will get sick and die, including ourselves.

Meanwhile, let’s all create happy memories.

The last time we see each other may very well be the last time we see each other.

13 Responses to “Not doing well”

  1. Olga Says:

    My thoughts are with you.

  2. DJan Says:

    Sending you good wishes to heal quickly from your loss, and hope that your colitis gets under control soon. Sorry to hear you are not doing well, Gigi. 😦

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    Sending a big hug Gigi. I am so sorry you are going through such a tough time right now.

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I feel so sad for you, Gigi. The last thing you need is someone telling you how it will be, so I won’t. You’ve had other deaths recently, you know. So, I send you sympathy and strength for getting through the first of everything without Pat.

  5. Linda Starr Says:

    sorry for your loss

  6. Christine Says:

    Oh Gigi, at least you are being treated and finding things quickly. Life is a roller coaster, just believe is my latest inspiring slogan.

  7. Kailani Says:

    very sorry for your loss, and your ill health. Hope the new med helps.

  8. Joared Says:

    Loss of someone for whom we care, and especially in the manner in which she died, coupled with your having health issues probably makes it harder to tap into your positive nature. Years ago I lost an Aunt whose life was dedicated to doing so much for others but left this world in a similar manner crossing a Detroit street. Life just is not fair, sometimes. Do try to focus on whatever you do to minimize stressful thinking over this loss and your current health issues — listen to music? — view beautiful scenes? — let the ocean sounds and views lull you? Take comfort knowing you’re having medical care to help you get better.

  9. Beatrice Says:

    The loss of a loved one can have emotional as well as physical residual effects, Gigi. You are mourning the sudden death of your SIL and should give yourself time, which won’t make the sadness go away, but your body may feel less stressed.

  10. Tom Sightings Says:

    I had a precancerous polyp removed during my first colonoscopy at age 51, and I’m still around to tell the tale. So just keep after it all … and, yes, sadly, your last sentence is all too true.

  11. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    So sorry you are not feeling well, grieving the loss of a beloved family member takes a lot of physical and spiritual help..You cannot feel better missing your beloved Pat! Sending many prayers and chants for you in Hawaii that you will start to feel better soon, aloha!

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    Oh dear. I commented on today’s post before reading this one. I can see why you want to look at things in a positive light.
    I am so sorry for your troubles.

  13. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Oh Gigi. I am so sorry for your loss. I know you enjoyed your SIL’s company so much. So take your meds. those grandchildren need you around a lot longer.

Leave a Reply

