Pul Kogi (Korean Barbecued Beef)

The weather was nice yesterday, so we decided to barbecue Pul Kogi (Korean Barbecued Beef) on our brand new gas grill.

This is David in our patio:

Pul Kogi 001-A

Pul Kogi 002-A

This is the Pul Kogi on the grill:

Pul Kogi 005-A

This is the cooked beef:

Pul Kogi 006-A

RECIPE:

1 lb top sirloin, thinly sliced 

Combine the following ingredients and then add to the beef:

4 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 tablespoon mirin (rice wine)

2 tablespoons white sugar

1 teaspoon garlic, minced

1 teaspoon ginger, minced

1 teaspoon sesame seeds

½ teaspoon black pepper

2 green onions, thinly sliced

*** 

Massage all ingredients in a large pot.

Cover the pot and marinate in the refrigerator for 2-3 hours.  Do not marinate over night, because the beef will get dry.

Grill outdoors and put the cooked meat in a clean container.

DELICIOUS!

 

8 Responses to “Pul Kogi (Korean Barbecued Beef)”

  1. DJan Says:

    Looks good, Gigi, if you eat that sort of thing. I don’t, not having eaten beef in almost half a century now. 🙂

  2. Olga Says:

    I have a small piece of beef in my freezer. I am going to give this a try. I hope it won’t be ruined by stir frying it a a pan since I don’t use the grill.

  3. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Looks delicious. I’ve had it and thought it was wonderful. Don’t eat beef anymore…alas.

  4. Christine Says:

    thanks I will definitely be saving and trying this

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Great sounding recipe Gigi, thank you. I will give this a try.

  6. Kay G. Says:

    OH, thanks very much for this recipe! I adore ginger, along with lemon, it is something that I simply must have!!

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Nom nom it has been in the high 80’s and now 35 degrees cooler but still dry..I will marinate my beef and put in on our George foreman thingie quickly, should come out great, I also put veggies with olive oil on it and they taste wonderful..Of course if I could & so my hubs we would sail to Hawaii and enjoy paradise but your recipes and blogs help us to kind of live in your gorgeous state, aloha and have a good day and weekend coming up, praying and chanting your health condition goes far away..!

Leave a Reply

