Elderly couples I admire

kamananui-morning glory-A

Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.

My 77 year old cousin and her 84 year old husband are going on an African safari in May. They will fly to Los Angeles, then to Minnesota, and then rest in Amsterdam.  From there, they will join a tour group in Tanzania.  They will spend two weeks there, traveling by jeep, and will see wildlife in the African savanna.

Exciting trip! What makes it interesting is that they both are cancer survivors.  Who says there is no life after cancer?  They beat the odds, and there they are.  I admire them so much.

Another elderly couple I admire is my 87 year old cousin and her 87 year old husband. They married each other when they were 25 years old.  That makes 62 years of marriage.  Neither is blind nor deaf, so they still attend symphony concerts at the Blaisdell Concert Hall and musicals at the Diamond Head Theater.

I hope David and I can live as well as these two couples when we are their age.

Just because you are elderly does not mean you should stay home and wait to die.

8 Responses to “Elderly couples I admire”

  1. DJan Says:

    I agree. Keeping fit and engaged in the world is the best way to enjoy one’s final chapter of life, in my opinion. Good for them! 🙂

  2. Olga Hebert Says:

    Amen to that and cheers to both those active couples.

  3. Christine Says:

    very inspiring to hear about these people, wow.

  4. Linda Reeder Says:

    Good for them. We try to stay healthy and active, but sometimes it’s the luck of the draw.

  5. Joared Says:

    Great examples of what is possible in our elder years.

  6. Beatrice Says:

    Well said, Gigi. Enjoying the life you have at any age is what makes living wonderful.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    True, however, I stay home much of the time because I prefer to. I did 99 percent of my traveling when I was younger and I’m glad I did.

    I don’t think galavanting around just because you can is particularly virtuous.

    Many seniors stay home because they don’t have the funds to travel or even attend concerts. Most seniors are older women on fixed incomes. If not for Social Security, many of them would go hungry and some might even live on the street with all the other homeless people.

    Many seniors with funds have physical ailments that limit their mobility. Hopefully, you and David will escape that fate. Its wonderful that your cousins survived cancer, too many people don’t.

    Sorry to sound so pedantic, but one of the perks of old age is finally being able to speak your mind and not give a toss about being disliked.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Two couples to be admired, and what wonderful role models for us all. Thank you for sharing their stories Gigi.

Leave a Reply

