Begonias and bugs

David and I drove to Home Depot recently to buy rose bushes. I looked them over and decided they didn’t look nice.

So, I bought these potted begonias, instead. Aren’t they pretty?

Begonias 016-A

Begonias 012-A

Begonias 015-A

Let’s see how long they last. I saw white flies floating in the air.  The plants might become infested with them.  I hope the white flies don’t end up eating all of the green leaves and killing the begonias.

The plants cost $20.00 each or $60.00 for the three.  Not cheap by any means.  I can’t afford to keep buying plants that succumb to bugs.

I don’t remember my father ever using insecticide on his garden vegetables and flowers. He said that if he left something for the bugs to eat, they would leave something for him to eat and admire, too.  There was plenty to share with the bugs.

At any rate, I don’t feel like contaminating my lungs with poison. We’ll see what happens.

On the other hand, the ferns hanging next to the begonias are doing extremely well. I water them every other day and rotate them once a week.  I bought them on January 1 at Home Depot.  Now, why haven’t the bugs eaten my ferns?

Ferns and begonias 002-A

7 Responses to “Begonias and bugs”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I know very little about bugs, but your ferns are lovely.

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Generally, plants pick up white flies in crowded nurseries or green houses. As yours are outside, these insect may disappear over time. I planted many different begonias outside in troughs and pots. I keep them in areas where they receive shade at least half the day because the sun will scald the leaves if you don’t. Also, don’t water them until the top soil is dry. Overwatering kills begonias faster than anything, The only begonias I water are on my porch where the rain never reaches them.

    If the flies don’t disappear, buy a bottle of Safer spray. This is the best product for reducing the insect population on potted plants. The birds may eat some of these insects, so you don’t want to poison
    them.

    Begonias are one of my favorite plants for indoors and out.

  3. Djan Says:

    I hope those bugs go bother somebody else. Your begonias are beautiful. 🙂

  4. Linda Starr Says:

    hopefully the white flies will move on now that they are out of doors, those begonias were expensive, yikes, I won’t tell you how much I paid at home depot for mine recently.

  5. Christine Says:

    lovely new plants Gigi, hope those flies go away sheesh

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    They look nice! Me? I’ve never had much luck with begonias … but then i have a brown thumb.

  7. PM Says:

    One thing you could do. Get a spray bottle, and add soap 3 tablespoon’s of soap to the water. Any type of soap will do fill all the way near the top with water (mix well). Spray the leaves with the solution. When you see them coming back spray again. Try to spray under the leaves. That where like to build there and lay the eggs. Try to ask your gardener about it. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

