Price of gas in Hawaii

These are the two cars in our garage. The blue 2016 Hyundai Accent is mine, and the grey 2010 Toyota Camry is David’s:

cars 003-A

On Saturday, I took my car to the Chevron station in my neighborhood. This was the sign showing the prices for gas:

Chevron gas prices 008-A

I filled up my car with regular gas ($2.39 per gallon):

Chevron gas prices 004-A

Chevron gas prices 001-A

This was the total price ($17.44) for the amount of gas I bought:

Chevron gas prices 006-A

As for David, he usually drives his car to Costco in Waipio and buys gas there. The price for regular gas at Costco was $2.03 per gallon on Saturday, much lower than the price at Chevron.

But, these are Hawaii prices.  How much is gas in your area?

11 Responses to “Price of gas in Hawaii”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I filled up last week for $2.21/gallon. There’s not rhyme nor reason.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    last week we were $1.78, this week $1.93, then $1.98

  3. dkzody Says:

    Wow, you have cheap gas in Hawaii. I would have thought it would be much higher since it has to be shipped there.

    Last week when I filled up, the price for regular in Fresno, at the Valero station, was $2.59 a gallon. California, though, has some of the highest taxes on gas in the nation. There is approximately 60 cents a gallon that goes to taxes. Federal excise tax is 18 cents, the rest is state and local taxes.

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I have no idea. David usually gasses the cars. Sometimes I am with him and he comments on the price, but it goes in one ear and out the other, even if I look at the station sign.

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    Regular is about the same here, outside of NYC. I buy mid-grade, though, currently at $2.79, or $2,89 if you use credit. (But also, I never buy less than 10 gallons at a time.)

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Vancouver Washington went from 2.09 to 2.69 in one dadblasted day..Our price is lower we buy at safeway and get 10 cents off for every 100 worth of groceries many of my friends use our phone number and we got 60 cents off when it was only 2.09 per gallon and we filled up our Hyundai is only 4 years old and we don’t drive it all that much, I walk and bike it and my hubs makes sure to include what we need in one outing..We cannot understand the high prices we only use Chevron gasoline as we tried others and it did something to our engine but we have a warranty pkg on it and the place we got it at takes care of all repairs etc..It sounds as if your prices are not that bad whatsoever for Hawaii! aloha to you and yours in the most beautiful place on this earth!

  7. Christine Says:

    105.9 cents per litre in Toronto, we use litres here not gallons. From what I can google David pays 66c per litre, amazing…we pay a lot more

  8. Olga Says:

    The price of gas was down to $1.79 this winter, but it has crept back up. i think it is a bit over $2, but I might get a rude shock the next time I fill up.

  9. Beatrice Says:

    The price of gas here in NH has been creeping up and this week, I saw prices ranging from $2.19 to $2.25 this week.

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    Our closest gas station is $2.39 but CostCo’s is $2.09.

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    I’m not sure when you wrote this but in Michigan it just went up to 2.28 from 2.16 — although a couple of weeks ago it was 2.39 here. They say it’s when they change to “summer mix.” I think it’s the gas station pirates saying “It’s Thursday, time to raise the price!”

Leave a Reply

