Trying to look better

I was looking at my closet recently and decided that an old fut like me needed to wear sedate colors like black, brown, or grey.

So, I donated all those flashy, colorful muumuus to Goodwill.  Gone are the turquoise, lavender, red, and chartreuse muumuus.

For example, I kept this grey muumuu:

2 new muumuus 004-A

But, I gave away this turquoise muumuu:

2 new muumuus 001-A

Good riddance! Those bright colors made me look bigger, anyway.  And who needs to look bigger?

Since the beginning of the year, I have managed to lose 5-7 pounds, simply by eating less – usually one big meal mid-day and a small breakfast and fruit for dinner.

Yes, a 70 year old woman like me, who exercises so little, does not need to consume excessive calories.

One fine day, I will look decent for a change.

11 Responses to “Trying to look better”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    Eating less and losing weight is an ongoing process for us. Like yourself, we try to eat breakfast and only one other meal, whether lunch or dinner. As for your color decisions, personally I prefer bright colors and the grey would have gone in favor of the turqoise. Brighter colors life my spirits, but color choice is a personal decision.

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I eat four meals a day. Decent breakfast, fruit for lunch, small supper, fruit for another snack before bed. I’ve maintained 135 pounds for the last fifteen years. Unfortunately, I’ve shrunk two inches, and should weigh about 120. That will never happen.

  3. DeniseinVA Says:

    Good for you Gigi!

  4. DJan Says:

    We all make adjustments as we age. Congrats on your weight loss! 🙂

  5. Linda Starr Says:

    oh I so love all your muumuus; we eat about the same as you big meal at lunch and snack for dinner.

  6. Kay g, Says:

    I love the gray one but I bet the turquoise one looks nice on you too! I hear you about weight though, it wants to stay on!

  7. Christine Says:

    congrats on the weight loss, a good thing. Although you should have kept your brighter colours Gigi, you can stay young in spirit!

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    One day at a time and you will lose weight. cut the carbs, they cause problems. Protein is good.

  9. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    They look good the mumus you have already, it must be wonderful to be able to wear lovely colored clothing all the time, the weather in Hawaii is like non other in the usa over here..We have 87 degrees one day and the next it rains and rains..Happy Mothers Day to you early, you sounded like you enjoyed your children and grandchildren and still do..aloha and have a wonderful weekend..aloha!

  10. dkzody Says:

    I love bright colors and look best in them, however this winter I seemed to wear nothing but black pants and black top, usually with a raincoat and my black rainbows. We have had so much rain and wind this winter (and spring) that I don’t feel much like wearing the bright colors.

  11. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Congratulations on your weight loss! I wear a mix of black and colors — but even with the black or gray there is always something bright — a scarf or pin or sweater! Can’t give up the color!

Leave a Reply

