The bathroom law

koolau-2011-5-A

Orchids in Hawaii.

koolau-2011-4-A

We all know there has been a firestorm of controversy regarding the so-called “bathroom law,” which prohibits males, who identify as a female, from using the women’s restroom. This also affects women, who are transgender.

We don’t have such a law here in Hawaii, but David and I have been discussing this issue. He was at a department store recently and had to use the restroom immediately.  He noticed one that had a sign, titled “Family Restroom,” which permitted anyone to use the restroom.  There was a table in the room to change a baby’s diaper, too.  David was impressed.  Why can’t all stores have such a bathroom?

Consider, for example, a mother who has a young son and daughter.  Does she enter the men’s room or the women’s room?  A family restroom would be ideal for such a mother and her young son and daughter.

Why can’t people use their common sense? Look in the mirror.  If you look like a male, then use the men’s room.  If you look like a female, then use a woman’s room.  Why make an issue out of it?

On the other hand… When I was at a craft fair at a public school a few years ago, I needed to use the bathroom. The girl’s room was occupied, so I scooted into the boy’s room next to it, and used it.  I was just a little old lady, dressed like a woman, who needed to use the toilet in the boy’s room right away.  So, what?  Arrest me for breaking the law?

Of course, if that restroom had multiple toilets that were occupied by males, then I probably would have looked for a bush or tree to relieve myself…

15 Responses to “The bathroom law”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    North Carolina has lost a lot of business because of this bathroom law. Georgia didn’t pass it because Georgia is all about bringing the money into the state. (And using “pass it” here was unintentional, but is made me chuckle!)

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    there are just too many laws being passed and not enough emphasis of the government on doing it’s job of actually taking care of business and the citizens

  3. Christine Says:

    I think I have scooted into a men’s washroom at least once before too.

  4. Olga Says:

    So agree with…a little common sense, people!!!

  5. DJan Says:

    Our YMCA has changed the signs in all the one-seater bathrooms to be “gender neutral.” I think it make perfect sense! 🙂

  6. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Your observations cover my sentiments exactly.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    You are too sensible Gigi. I heard the Governor of North Carolina speak on PBS last night and he says the US need a single policy one way or another. He said TX has the same controversy as NC but for some reason, the media is beating up NC. The NC law says you must use the toilet that matches your sex at birth. It was designed to protect girls from sexual predators. So does the TX law. He says the transgendered people with whom he has spoken say they wish the Left had never brought the issue up because they had no problems before the political hoohah. Well that’s his opinion.

    My opinion is that the whole thing has been blown out of proportion, especially by irrelevant film stars….

    I’m sure over the years I have worked with and shared bathrooms with transgendered people. Are they a tiny minority? Who knows. I don’t understand the personal decisions people make about a sex change it at all and probably never will. I have tried, reading various literature, such as ‘Becoming Nichole’ a book about a boy who became a very pretty girl.

    I agree, family bathrooms and unisex bathrooms are the answer. Women facing long lines at ball games have used the frequently underused male facilities for years.

    And who among us hasn’t stumbled into the “wrong” restroom. Years ago, I did on Capitol Hill for goodness sake (and bumped into a Congressman too)!

    And who has asked why didn’t those outhouses of a few years back, before indoor plumbing, have “his” and ‘hers” signs?

  8. dkzody Says:

    When you find a vacant bathroom, and need to go, use it. I have never understood the hullabaloo about this issue. I’ve often gone into the men’s restroom b/c the women’s restroom was too busy, or even being cleaned.

    As for transgenders, I do not see why we are making them the devil in this. They are not going to attack anyone or make make sexual advances in the bathroom. They, like anyone else, just want to use the facilities.

  9. DeniseinVA Says:

    The family bathrooms are a very good idea and would solve a lot of issues. I have seen them over here. Years ago when I needed to use the facilities at a rest stop, the line outside the ladies room was long and I didn’t have time for that. I noticed that as a man came out of the men’s bathroom, it was just one room, like the ladies. I suggested someone use the men’s but got a look like I was off another planet. Well, I said, if no one is going to use the men’s and I walked inside. There were no men in line. I came out and there was a man who had just turned up and looked a bit startled when I walked out. I just came him a big smile and walked past the line of ladies still waiting to use the bathroom. Desperation makes you take the bull by the horns.

  10. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Target in Washington state has gender neutral bathrooms right next to the pharmacies, I always use them as I wait for my prescriptions..Why make people wait that have to go?? Whoever stirred up that controversy in North Carolina is a cretin in their way of thinking for sure..As I get older I simply don’t understand why people do what they do and hatefully at that..It is 82 and sunny and I am thinking of you and sending my prayers to the heavens you will be healed..We got food poisoning in our home both my hubs and me I was so sick and my hubs got weak, thanks to God for pedialyte and Gatorade and a good friend who is a retired doctor from the army she helped us out..Almost had to make my hubs go and get an IV cause he was so ill, but God restored him and I just laid down and suffered and sipped the pedialyte and Gatorade..When someone is ill they need to use a bathroom why be a beast and deny them that..ALOHA IN YOUR BEAUTIFUL PARADISE TAKE GOOD CARE OF YOURSELF, LOVE YOUR BLOG, ALOHA!

  11. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I meant to say a creatin, that way of thinking is terrible..Why spew hate about any person and living thing..It is not in our nature..We are both feeling great and now the sunshine and blue skies it is helping us to restore and renew, aloha Gigi in paradise!!!!!!

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    Any place where there are single restrooms, the sign should just say restroom. Multiple stall restrooms are a bit trickier, but since there are privacy stalls, no one would know if a transgender did not have the genitalia required.
    Locker rooms are a more complex matter. Maybe we need Men, Women, and Whatever.
    For the most part, the whole debate is a tempest in a teapot. Making “bathroom” laws is dumb.

  13. Tom Sightings Says:

    I agree, this is a controversy is search of a real problem. A little common sense is all we need.

  14. marmeladegypsy Says:

    When I was in Europe many places simply had a restroom. In some, you had the sink in the center and a small room/stall (with a full door) on either side. When I’m at a workshop where there are no men and plenty of women, we’ll use both but really — all this is such a fuss. If someone has moved on to look like a woman (or a man) use that one. I really don’t think the rest of the world has to be worried about sexual predators in that case!

  15. Musings Says:

    I totally agree about the Family Restroom. I think it would be great if everybody could have one.

Leave a Reply

