Who the hell wants to die?

marigolds-4-a

Marigolds in my patio.

marigolds-3-a1

I saw my new gastroenterologist on Monday and must say that he is tall and cute.  He told me to call him if the current round of medication does not work. He said he might prescribe a steroid pill, instead.  I will see him again in three months for a recheck.

I am to have another colonoscopy next April, because the inflammation in my colon was severe and a pre-cancerous polyp was removed during last month’s colonoscopy.

My father died of colon cancer in 1997 at the age of 87. When the surgeon opened Dad’s abdomen, he found a huge tumor on top of his colon, and it had spread to his stomach and liver.  He sewed him back up and told my dad that he had terminal colon cancer.  My father died two weeks after diagnosis.  I fault his Kaiser Permanente policy, which allows one colonoscopy every 10 years.  This time span is much too long, in my opinion.

Early detection is the key to survival.  A polyp should be removed before it becomes a tumor.

Though it is a hassle to have a colonoscopy so frequently, I am more than willing to do so if it means extending my life.

Who the hell wants to die?  I am having too much fun in life to let that happen.

10 Responses to “Who the hell wants to die?”

  1. Christine Says:

    Glad you are being proactive and having good checkups.

  2. DeniseinVA Says:

    You are a great role model. This is such an important issue.

  3. DJan Says:

    Your father was 87 and I hope he had a good life for most of it. No one in my family has lived to that age, because we all die much younger than that! Glad you are happy with your doctor. 🙂

  4. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    We have Kaiser here in the mainland and I got a colonscopy and a endoscopy and they joked I could come back in less than 6 years if everything was oky doky, of course I had just come back out of the procedures and was still groggy..But I was fully awake when the doctors gastrstrointologist and the doctor for anesthiaiologist explained what they meant..? What gives over in Paradise with Kaiser????? If one has to wait 10 full years cancer has spread tooo far to save the human being??????? I admire you for getting this procedure done and taking care of your body, no one wants to leave this terrestrial I know of..Good preventive measures can make for anything in ones body doable and livable..Aloha and praying you are doing well…

  5. Kay G. Says:

    Get as much done as you can to keep yourself healthy! Consider that an order! 🙂

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    10 years is standard unless there are increased risk factors. You have those. I’m glad you are getting good medical attention.

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Good for you with a positive attitude. Yes, have that colonoscopy. My gastroenterologist has me on a regular schedule of exams, and I am taking meds for certain issues. I feel much better for doing this. Its not only the quantity of life its the quality that matters.

    I don’t think insurance companies will do anything unless they are made to do it.

  8. marmeladegypsy Says:

    Hi Gigi! First, thanks for your visits to the Gypsy. I have some catching up to do! And good for you, having too much fun to die! You’re so right about prompt detection. My good wishes are going your way.

  9. Beatrice Says:

    If one has to see this type of dr it does help that he is nice looking. While this procedure is nearly eveyone’s least favorite in your case it may well be life saving and you are so right about who the hell does want to die!

  10. Joared Says:

    Good that you’re getting the colonoscopy. Depending on whether or what kind of polyps I thought 2 yrs if certain ones present and if none then 5 yrs. Kaiser may be different or maybe it’s changed since my last one.

    I did see recent news item that polyps on rt side of colon are more pronounced so easier to spot as opposed to polyps on left side of colon tend to be flat and can be more difficult to identify.

Leave a Reply

