Yayoi Shibori: Hand-dyed in Hawaii

My friend, Yayoi, has opened a business, called Yayoi Shibori.

This is what Yayoi has to say on her website:

“YAYOI SHIBORI features tees, sleeveless tees, silk scarves and Shibori wraps and bags.  Every item in the shop is individually hand-dyed by me, Yayoi.  I use a hand-dyeing technique known throughout the world as Shibori.  Shibori is the Japanese word for a variety of ways of embellishing textiles by shaping cloth and securing it before dyeing.  The word comes from the verb root shiboru, ‘to wring, squeeze, press.'”

Here are photos of some of Yayoi’s work (click on the photos to enlarge them):

Yayoi-1-A

Yayoi-4-A

Yayoi-2-A

This is her mother, modeling a tee and handbag:

Yayoi-3-A

Yayoi will be selling her work at Kapiolani Park in Waikiki (near the Zoo end of the park) on the following dates, from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm:

May 21, 2016 – Saturday

June 25-26, 2016 – Saturday and Sunday

August 27-28, 2016 – Saturday and Sunday

Do click on this link to her website for more photos and information about her work:

https://yayoishibori.wordpress.com/

Or you can click on her name on my Blogroll.

Yayoi’s items are also listed on Etsy:

https://www.etsy.com/shop/yayoishibori

Good luck and best wishes, Yayoi!

10 Responses to “Yayoi Shibori: Hand-dyed in Hawaii”

  1. Olga Says:

    Oh, my. Beautiful.

  2. Christine Says:

    Congrats and good luck to your friend! Beautiful pieces!

  3. DJan Says:

    Very pretty. 🙂

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Lovely. I hope she takes her work to more art shows.

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    How neat. I would love the blue and white scarf.

  6. Kailani Says:

    pretty stuff! Thanks for sharing!

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I need some new dresses and a handbag would be super duper..I am a plus size, if I lived there I would rush over and have your friend make me a plus size dress and I would pick up a handbag, but of course it is raining now in our town in the pacific northwest and I would need something warmer, but they do look spectacular..Aloha to you in paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    I wish your friend the very best and great success in her new business.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    That is a type of what we would call tie dye. Very pretty.

  10. Joared Says:

    Very attractive! Love the color.

Leave a Reply

