Blackout window shades

As you know, we had a problem with the glare from the windows on our TV screen. So, we ordered two blackout shades to cover four windows in our family room.  Two windows per shade.

Here are photos of the shades raised up and pulled down:

Blackout window shades 012-A

Blackout window shades 011-A

Blackout window shades 014-A

The shades fit behind our lace drapes and have metal chains on either side of the wall to pull them down or raise them up.

We are very pleased with the results.  Now, we can watch TV without the glare.

Wong’s Drapery Shoppe in Honolulu did a great job.

11 Responses to “Blackout window shades”

  1. Snoskred Says:

    On our last visit to Oahu we rented a condo at the Ilikai which did not have blackout curtains, it was really the only thing that it was missing. It helped me wake up earlier because at home my bedroom is like a bat cave with full black out curtains. 🙂

    You have some fantastic light over there however I imagine it can get quite glary when trying to watch teevee! 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    This is a wonderful tasteful solution, the room looks beautiful both a
    Ways!

  3. DJan Says:

    I think blackout curtains are a wonderful invention! Yours make a huge difference. I can see why you are happy with the result. 🙂

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Looks like a cozy setup. Isn’t it wonderful when someone does a good job?

  5. Olga Says:

    Very nice. I love the airiness of your decor.

  6. Linda Starr Says:

    wow, those work really well, we face south and sometimes we get quite a glare here too

  7. Kailani Says:

    Glad you solved your problem! I have a similar situation with my home pc/office. I love to look out the window behind my large monitor, but there is always a glare when it’s daytime. I hate being in a dark room.

  8. Kay g, Says:

    They look great!

  9. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    You can get to watch your tv if you so choose, too much light can sometimes and I mean sometimes make it impossible to get much use of a space if it never gets dim to watch tv, rest, etc..Aloha to you in Hawaii, how are you feeling? I chant and pray for you daily! How is your husband? is he still in san Francisco visiting? You will be healed soon, aloha in paradise!

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    I can see that did the trick. It reminds me of my sister’s house when they lived in Norway many years ago. Theirs were black-out metal shades that were on the outside of the house, drawn up and down with chains. This was to aid in sleeping in the land of the midnight sun.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    Too much light can really ruin enjoyment while watching a movie or TV and it looks like you have a great solution, Gigi.

Leave a Reply

