Mars is the next frontier

cutey and flowers-2-A

When I used to have a cat (2009 in my patio)…

cutey and flowers-1-A

Remember Scott Kelly? He is the 52 year old NASA astronaut who spent 340 days in the space station, orbiting the Earth zillions of time.  Incredible, isn’t it?

Yesterday, I read a newspaper article about his health during the past three months since he returned to Earth. He said he suffers from aching feet, stiff legs, fatigue, burning skin, rash, and flu-like symptoms.  He does not feel healthy.  He feels sick.  Fortunately, he is retired now and has time to recuperate.  He plans to write a book and become a speaker.

Why did Scott Kelly do such a thing, risking his life during such a terrible ordeal? The reason is that scientists want to know if humans can withstand a flight to and from Mars.  The goal is to send a manned flight to Mars during the 2030s.

I will be 84 years old in 2030. That is also the year when David and I will celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary, assuming we are still alive.

So, Mars is the next frontier.

We have come a long way since Christopher Columbus sailed from Europe to the New World in 1492.

Landing on the Moon in 1969 was thrilling, too.

I hope I live long enough to see what happens when astronauts land on Mars.

9 Responses to “Mars is the next frontier”

  1. Olga Says:

    I have no desire to make that thrilling trip, but it would be fascinating to watch.

  2. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I think it is a ploy to yet get money from dumb citizens, people put down payments on Virgin airlines to go to Mars, really..I would use the money to go to Hawaii and to where they filmed the Lord of the Rings before I would ever think to put money down to soar to Mars, it is hotter than you know what there who needs that…I am interested in space travel just not for me or my hubs, aloha in paradise!

  3. DJan Says:

    I might be alive in 2030, but I don’t really expect it. I’m living every day today and hoping I can make it through the next journey around the sun! I enjoyed the movie “The Martian” but that’s as close as I’ll get to Mars, I suspect. 🙂

  4. Kailani Says:

    2030 is iffy for me too. I wouldn’t mind being alive, as long as I’m not suffering. We’ll see. LOL

  5. Christine Says:

    interesting, those days in space may be having an effect! Do hope you make it to your 50th Gigi and David!

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    Good post, Gigi. I would be 86 and I guess it is possible that I would be around to see a Mars landing. I guess it would be a goal for keeping going.

  7. Beatrice Says:

    Personally, I have no desire to go in space. I won’t even ride a ferris wheel high in the sky. Too bad about Scott Kelly and perhaps these symptoms are just a readjustment to earth and will subside in time…hopefully.

  8. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Scott Kelly knew the risks of going into space he is an astronaut afterall and a scientist…I will be 82 in 2030 I hope to live that long but have no desire whatsoever to travel to outer space..Now Hawaii I would love and where they filmed Lord of the Rings for sure, warm climates with the sea is my idea of a nice trip indeed! Happy Memorial day, I visited the pearl harbor memorial and cried I was young and it was a lovley, day, went back to san diego and worked for the Navy, my hubs an Army man but the sacrifices of our Veterans are far and wide, peace and love to you, praying and chanting for your health concerns to abate and that good health finds it way to you! aloha in paradise!

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Space exploration is stupid in a time of money shortages for basic services…my 2 cents. When don’t have the largesse of the 1950s when our economy was hot. Spending on space travel is like buying your kid an iPod when he needs shoes.

Leave a Reply

