So simple. So easy. So healthy.

Salmon with salsa, mayo, cumin 003-A

My weight has been so laughable. Sometimes, I weigh much less than I used to at the doctor’s office, and the doctor asks, “How’s your appetite?  Sometimes, patients with colitis lose a lot of weight.”

Then, my weight bounces back to a high number, and a different doctor says, “You are obese due to excessive calories.”

I can’t win!

Lately, my focus has been on eating lean and mean. Strive for less fat in my meals.

So, instead of fried chicken, I eat baked salmon, covered with a sauce consisting of 1 cup salsa, 1 cup mayonnaise, and ½ teaspoon cumin powder. Pour this sauce over 4 salmon fillets.  Bake the salmon for 20 minutes at 350F.

Instead of potato salad, I eat a baked potato with a little butter, salt, and pepper. Microwave 2 potatoes, which have been pierced several times on both sides with a fork, for 5 minutes.  Then, turn them over with tongs and microwave them again for 5 minutes.  Slit them and add a little butter, salt, and pepper.

And instead of a tossed salad with dressing, I eat steamed broccoli with nothing on it. I place a bag of Steamable Broccoli in the microwave and nuke it for 5 minutes.  Let the bag sit for a while.  Then, cut it open and pour the broccoli into a bowl.

So simple. So easy.  So healthy.

11 Responses to “So simple. So easy. So healthy.”

  1. DJan Says:

    I eat my salmon with only a little salt and pepper. We are fortunate here to have delicious sockeye salmon, my favorite. 🙂

  2. Joanne Noragon Says:

    It really is best. Our lean, mean ancestors ate pretty much the same.

  3. Linda Starr Says:

    Gary likes our salmon cooked with soy sauce, I saute onions, ginger and a little brown sugar and we spoon it over the rice too. I steam our broccoli in a pan with water with a vegetable steamer to keep it out of the water. I started getting large bags of frozen broccoli florets and just take out a few and put the bag back in the freezer for the next time.

  4. Christine Says:

    I should eat more steamed broccoli, I think it’s just a case of getting used to it.

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    I enjoy salmon and cook it often, though we had a piece of cod tonight. I baked it in the oven on 375 for about 16 minutes, sprinkled with a little salt and pepper, and a squeeze of lemon juice on serving. I also enjoy broccoli and cook a potato. Thanks for this recipe. Sounds delicious!

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I cook salmon in a little butter and lemon rind and serve it with salt, pepper and lemon. No need to add a lot of fat.

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    My hubs of 42 years and I got so ill from frozen veggies that I threw out all our frozen veggies and will only buy Cascadian Farms from the Skagit valley an organic farm that has never had a recall and probably never will..We thought we would die but lived to tell the tale as the phrase is used..We enjoy salmon at the Washington coast where we are going today for a week it will be in the high 90’s for a good long while not at the coast, we will feed ourselves on salmon and crab and many other goodies from the sea in a tiny cabin with kindergarten friends and walk and walk and enjoy ourselves while everyone in our town will bake in the 90’s and above and the humidity here will be unkind..I say get out of town when the heat heats up cause it is unbearable, so early in june, we can’t imagine what it will be like in july and august! Praying for your continued colitis to cease and desist in your life, chanting toooooo! The photo of your dinner looks yummy and not so many calories a person has to eat aloha and peace, joy and love sent to you and your hubs tooo!

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Salmon, baked potato and broccoli — sounds like a fine meal to me!

  9. Beatrice Says:

    we are both very fond of salmon and always on the lookout for new ways to serve it. Thanks Gigi for posting you mean and lean version, although perhaps it is not as lean as we would like to hope 😦

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    According to most nutritionists, reducing carb intake seems to be the answer these days. However, what ever works for you is what matters. Have you been checked for Celiac diease?

Leave a Reply

