Excellent traveling nurse

flowers-9-A

Flowers in my neighborhood.

Last Saturday night, David drove me to the emergency room at Pali Momi, because I thought my colitis had gone ballistics and I needed a blood transfusion. This had been the case in 2011, when I received two units of blood after a colitis attack.

Well, tests were done on Saturday, and I was told that I did not need a transfusion. I could go home.  I was relieved, because there is nothing worse than lying in bed in the hospital day and night for days and nights.

Anyway, I was very impressed with the traveling nurse who treated me in the emergency room at Pali Momi. She said Saturday was her first day on the job.  The day before was orientation, when she was showed the location of equipment and supplies.  She was an excellent nurse, very adept at drawing blood and inserting an IV.  Very fast, very efficient, very organized.

Some nurses are better than others. When David had knee surgery at Straub last year, his nurse was just awful.  She tried to insert an IV in his left arm, but the needle popped out and she had a terrible time reinserting it.  Blood started spouting out.  She hurriedly put a bandage on it, and said she would ask for help.  Another nurse came in and was able to insert an IV in David’s other arm.  What a scare!

So, it’s a good thing that my nurse at Pali Momi was so skillful. She said she had worked in Texas for six years and in Los Angeles for two years.  She enjoys being a traveling nurse.

I guess if you are good at what you do, you will always find work anywhere. More power to this excellent traveling nurse!

10 Responses to “Excellent traveling nurse”

  1. Beatrice Says:

    Glad to read that you are OK, Gigi, and that you had such a skilled nurse.

  2. Christine Says:

    so glad you are ok Gigi, awful about the nurse and David’s IV.

  3. DJan Says:

    Glad you got such a skilled nurse, Gigi. I hope you are recovered from that scare.

  4. Tom Sightings Says:

    Lucky you to get a brand new nurse who knew what she was doing! Glad you’re okay. We have a walk-in clinic where I live, so for the most part we can avoid the scary, slow-going, super-expensive ER.

  5. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Good care is part of comforting. I had the technician miss on a blood draw recently, and I have the most prominent veins in the universe. The needle rolled around and around the outside of the vein. Finally she said to the person she summoned, “This vein is having a bad day.” And I said “So are you!” She left abruptly. I don’t have a problem with “Opps, I need help,” or some such thing, but blaming it on a vein’s bad day was just irresponsible.

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    It is wonderful when a nurse does what is the best for the patient and loves their job and does it well..No doubt about that, I think nursing an admirable profession but many go into it and get burned out early and leave the profession here in the pacific northwest, big shortages and people don’t want to do it at all..Praying and chanting your issues with colitis abate and you are healed..Good that your husband and you are diligent and can find good health care on the island where you live makes all the difference, maybe it will heal up and you will feel much much better..praying and chanting for your colitis to abate and you can get back to living and enjoying yourself, peace and joy and love sent to you! Aloha!

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Good medical care is important. After years of suffering at the hands of our GP’s various nurses, he finally hired a phlebotomist. They are so good at what they do, it makes all the difference.

    Happy to her you are okay. I know you were scared, losing blood is a serious business.

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Good to hear your stay was short Gigi, so sorry you had a flare-up. Good that you had a skilled nurse also. Take good care of yourself and I wish you nothing but good health.

  9. Olga Says:

    There is definitely a skill to drawing blood. I have found that some one making vampire jokes does nothing to relieve my anxiety when I have to have some blood drawn.

  10. Kay G. Says:

    Oh my yes, i agree with all your friends above, glad you are okay and that you had a good nurse! It can be a bit scary with nurses, luckily, my step mom is a nurse and sometimes she will just take over with my Dad if he has a bad one!

Leave a Reply

