Loving Hawaii

Yesterday, we purchased color bowls at Home Depot on Ala Kawa Street. They were having a big sale, so we had a good time choosing inexpensive flowers for our planter box:

color bowls 001-A

color bowls 003-A

Tomorrow, we will attend the last symphony concert of the season at the Blaisdell Concert Hall. It should be interesting, because it is being touted as an all-Russian concert, featuring Russian composers, a Russian pianist, and a Russian conductor.

Russia is one of the countries I have never visited. I would love to visit, but I doubt I ever will.  It would be an arduous journey flying from Hawaii, and at my age, I just don’t want to do it.

We appreciate what Hawaii has to offer: Family, friends, art exhibits, concerts, operas, and ethnic restaurants.

Note: We don’t sunbathe, snorkel, golf, or hike to prevent skin cancer and brown spots on our face and arms.  However, David does like to exercise at the gym every night, and I do tend to the house daily.  Yes, housework is considered exercise, too.

Meanwhile, I enjoy blogging and Facebooking, which keep me somewhat occupied.

10 Responses to “Loving Hawaii”

  1. Carole Says:

    Your flowers are beautiful! I’m sure you will enjoy the concert. I used to play the piano quite well when I was young; now it is more of a hobby for me. Looks like you and David are enjoying all that Hawaii has to offer. Especially the wonderful weather!

  2. Olga Says:

    And you just added container gardening to your list of activities. They flowers and ferns look really nice.

  3. DJan Says:

    The flowers are really pretty. I know you will enjoy that concert. 🙂

  4. Christine Says:

    It is good to travel at a younger age, But it all depends on life circumstances and priorities. I wonder if I will make it to places like Australia, my mom never did. Now she has dementia.

  5. dkzody Says:

    I love those pots of flowers. Unfortunately, they wouldn’t look very good for very long here in our hot, dry valley. You have the best climate for those pots.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    David lived in Russia with his grandparents as a child. He remembers many things, although this was just before WWII. His family disappeared during the war. You must be attending “The Bartered Bride” if everything is Russian at your opera.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    Lovely photos of your new flowers Gigi. And when I think of all the people around the world who love to come to Hawaii, me included, I think you live in a perfect spot!

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Russia? It sounds like you’re already living in a worker’s paradise called Hawaii!

Leave a Reply

