Paying good money for bad food

Walk 2-3-12 006-A

Hawaii:  A tree in my neighborhood.

We dined at a restaurant recently and were disappointed. What would you do if you ordered lobster bisque, and they served you bisque without lobster?  All I got was seasoned cream.  Grrrr.  That’s one restaurant we won’t revisit.  I was going to name the restaurant, but decided not to be so mean.  If it shuts down, I won’t be surprised.

Do you live to eat, or do you eat to live?

I do both.

Nothing wrong with presenting food that is visually appealing as well as delicious. Throw in a beautiful view from your window, and you have an award winning restaurant.

Above all, you don’t want to see a roach in your food. Ugh!

People are not fools. They won’t pay good money for bad food.

And if the restaurant is filthy, it will shut down in no time.

10 Responses to “Paying good money for bad food”

  1. Christine Says:

    We recently went to a restaurant and our friends insisted we not tip as the waiter kept messing up. The food was fine. We were fine to tip but our friends were so insistent. Hmm.I just felt sorry for the guy.

  2. Olga Says:

    We used to go to a restaurant that we really enjoyed but one time they had a very pricey shrimp “special” that we both ordered. Our plates arrived with two shrimp on each plate. My husband would never go back after that. Two shrimp is not even aesthetically pleasing.

  3. DJan Says:

    I don’t eat out often, but when I do I go to places I know serve good food. I wouldn’t be going back to that restaurant, either.

  4. dkzody Says:

    I’m with DJan, I keep going back to the places that serve real food. Too many places order from Sysco, open a can, run the food through the microwave and serve it. No thanks. I cannot eat processed foods.

    As for that lobster bisque, see I never would have ordered that in the first place. I don’t eat shell fish and I certainly don’t eat anything with dairy products. My digestive tract would have been in a mess of hurt for days.

  5. Carole Says:

    I don’t know it if is my imagination, but it seems like the quality of restaurant food has gone downhill over the last 20 years or so. We are careful where we spend our dining out dollars. It must have been so disappointing. (I love lobster bisque!)

  6. Ginnie Says:

    Hi: first time for me to visit you. I completely agree with the comment you left on The Frog and Penguin about the creepy twig sculptures. I’ve seen them up close and they leave me cold.
    As to your food question…just watching how long a restaurant stays in business is usually a good barometer of the food.

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    My hubs took me to this fine restaurant for a pre-birthday dinner in april might have been may, can’t remember, the service was long and slow but the waitress got the order great, just took tooo long..We still tipped and she brought out extra desserts to go since we were celebrating..We went in early june for my birthday, ordered lobster and steak, lobster hot and great steak with bernaise sauce pretty skimpy, mashed spuds hot and the bread was great, my hubs dinner lovely..The waiter catered to older women and forgot us I hailed the owner and complained, he comped the whole meal and brought us a cake to take home frozen and delish..but we won’t be going back not enough wait staff and we don’t like to wait until the good Lord comes to the earth to finally get our meals..Very expensive normally, left a tip for the server with a note to be sure to remember patrons he is already serving, he came over and apologized and gave us another cake and some bread to take home..we still won’t go to the restaurant, service is abysmal not like it used to be when it was locally owned!

  8. Joanne Noragon Says:

    There are several area restaurants that lost our business because they didn’t measure up.

  9. Linda Starr Says:

    I once ate at a chinese restaurant in SF and my dish was served with a cockroach in it, when I told the waiter, he reached in and withdrew the cockroach and walked away with it. gross, we left immediately but they insisted we still pay

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I agree about the food and filth. Perhaps this is a front to launder drug money? They surely are not a serious restaurant business.

Leave a Reply

