Bone density test

10-11-11-orchids-A

Hawaii:  Orchids.

My previous bone density test was done ten years ago at age 60, and the test scores for spine and hips were normal.

This time, at age 70, my test scores were again normal. No sign of osteoporosis.  No need for bone medication at all.

Having normal bone density is quite remarkable, because my mother had osteoporosis, resulting in numerous bone fractures every time she fell. She lost quite a bit of height and was very frail.

Osteoporosis is prevalent among white and Asian women. Also, loss of estrogen, a sedentary lifestyle, taking steroid medication, smoking, and drinking more than two alcoholic drinks per day often result in brittle bones.

People think that taking calcium supplements will help boost their bone density. However, too much calcium can lead to a heart attack, because plaque in the arteries consists of calcium.

We achieve maximum bone mass in our early twenties. We draw from this bone “bank” when we lose bone density as we age.  People who have a lot of bone mass in their bone bank do not get osteoporosis.

I am so glad I have normal bone density and don’t have to take medication for osteoporosis. I am very lucky, indeed.

My next test will take place 3 – 5 years from now.

P.S.  I got the above information from the Mayo Clinic website and also from one of my doctors.

10 Responses to “Bone density test”

  1. Olga Says:

    That’s great! I have osteopenia, some bone density loss. I worry about taking calcium although my doctor says to keep taking it.

  2. Christine Says:

    Great results Gigi, I am doing my first one today!

  3. DJan Says:

    That is very good news. I need to get another test one of these days. 🙂

  4. mary sampson Says:

    I took so much calcium I got kidney stones which were painful..Now I take lemon water daily hot and no more kidney stones and eat lots of spinach and other calcium containing veggies and I don’t drink or smoke..I force myself to walk and walk and walk, eases up my type 2 diabetes symptoms..Good you are in great shape, aloha in paradise. We are off to a fine restaurant tomorrow to celebrate Fathers day with a fish menu, it is at the Washington coast we know the owners and quite a feast with our kindergarten friends tooooo..happy happy fathers day to your hubs and to you have a wonderful weekend!

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Great source. Our hospital is part of the Mayo Clinic network. I receive material from them every month on various subjects of my choosing. I think anyone can subscribe, no matter what your affiliation.

    You are fortunate your bones are so healthy. Mine are in great shape too. My doc says I have the bone density of a woman in her twenties (he measures them every year).

    I attribute this to growing up with a cow of our own during WWII. I think many of those who proceeded us did not have access to milk during the War. This really hurt kids in their formative years.

    David has Osteopenia. Drinking milk would help him, but he is like a child when it comes to milk products….he doesn’t like them. Naturally occurrring calcium in foods is good for you. Pills are not.

  6. lizzie Says:

    I stumbled upon your website and read through several entries. Love the way you write. So straightforward and honest. Loved your family photos.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    This is a very interesting post. I also have good bone density, though both my mother and sister had problems with theirs. Glad yours is normal. Those are beautiful flowers.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    So far, so good on my bone density. My mother had problems, but I think I inherited my dad’s big bones.

  9. Joared Says:

    Good that your bone density is not a problem. I haven’t had mine tested since years ago when the guy who did it measured me and told me I’d lost a half inch in height. i questioned him because I didn’t believe it since my slacks length was unchanged. He didn’t remeasure me. When I came home I had my son measure me and my height had not changed. Told my doctor but don’t know what he did with the information. Had my annual physical a few weeks ago, my doctor’s nurse measured me (with my shoes on no less — first mistake cause they have a bit of a heel) — but my height is okay. I always liked milk — many years had unpasteurized cows milk from which we had skimmed the cream. Had a hard time getting used to the store variety. Once so many items get processed or adapted for shipping they cease tasting as good, sometimes lose all flavor — tomatoes, strawberries come immediately to mind.. .

  10. Carole Says:

    Glad your bone density is OK. I have osteopenia and take a pill to prevent further bone loss. I moved away from taking calcium supplements for a lot of reasons, but mainly because I’m concerned about the formation of plaque in arteries. I focus on eating foods that are rich in calcium. In addition I do a lot of strength training and walking. So far, my height is unchanged. My mother refused years ago to do anything about bone loss and she lost 5 inches!

Leave a Reply

