My new goal and project

Lisa-roses-A

Roses on my dining table.  Lisa’s boyfriend gave her this bouquet.  (2010)

Now that the closet doors have been painted, there is nothing more to do to our house except to maintain it. We have all the furniture we could possibly want, and I can’t think of anything else that needs to be replaced.

So, what other project can I devote my time, money, and energy to?

My new goal is to become a good chef. We spend far too much on restaurants.  Why not improve my culinary skills and serve interesting food to my husband several times per week?  And if a particular dish is really delicious, why not make it my contribution to the next potluck party?

There is no need to buy cookbooks, because there are so many free recipes on the Internet.

Life does not have to be boring, and neither does food.

9 Responses to “My new goal and project”

  1. DJan Says:

    I’m sure you’ll be a good chef, and I look forward to your sharing your favorites! 🙂

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    a good project; I most often like my own cooking better than restaurants and as you say it is expensive; I love to cook, I started when I was a teenager because my mom cooked the same old thing over and over so I started reading our family cookbook “Antoinette Pope cookbook” and learned all about methods and now I just ad lib. That’s why I grow herbs to add to my cooking.

  3. Olga Says:

    I prefer to eat my own home cooked meals because I know what I am getting. I do enjoy a good restaurant for a special treat but I try to avoid the chain places. I know salt is used to enhance flavor, but when the overwhelming taste of the food is salt — that just doesn’t please me at all.

  4. Christine Says:

    beautiful flowers! And there is always decluttering, but you are so organized, maybe you already have.

  5. dkzody Says:

    Your own cooking will be so much healthier than restaurant meals.

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I applaud you a lot, we eat out but not often, as I am an excellent chef and my hubs is even better..I have friends who never eat out as they are almost like gourmet chefs, one can make sure the dishes are not loaded with fat and salt and we like to go heavy on veggies and fish, most restaurants that serve veggies and fish charge so much one can almost feel broke when one leaves, good luck I am sure your meals would be loverly! aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Tom Sightings Says:

    I love your tagline: “Life does not have to be boring, and neither does food.”

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I’m learning how to make dishes doe Diabetics for David. Thats a challenge too. Good luck with your hobby.

  9. Carole Says:

    I especially enjoy cooking when others appreciate and enjoy my efforts. With all the great produce that you can get in Hawaii, I am sure you will create some wonderful dishes.

Leave a Reply

