Children’s books

When Maria was here to help her father recently, I gave her some children’s books that might interest Julia and Rylan:

Children's books 001-A

Here’s a brief synopsis of three of these books.

“Of Thee I Sing” was written by President Barack Obama and published in 2010:

Children's books 004-A

It’s an interesting letter to his daughters, Malia and Sasha, regarding thirteen famous Americans, who shaped our nation: Americans such as Georgia O’Keefe, Jackie Robinson, Helen Keller, and George Washington.  The book is illustrated by Loren Long.

President Obama’s sister, Maya Soetoro-Ng, wrote “Ladder to the Moon,” published in 2011:

Children's books 006-A

It was inspired by the life and spirit of Barack’s and Maya’s mother, Ann Dunham. It’s a magical tale about grandma Annie reaching out to embrace her granddaughter, Suhaila, in a dream.  The book is beautifully illustrated by Yuyi Morales.

“Symphony Jones” was written and illustrated by my cousin, Elaine Menendez, and published in 2015:

Children's books 008-A

It began in 2003, when Elaine was in the hospital for her son’s third surgery. She found herself drawing pictures to distract herself, and these pictures became her book.  She is indeed a wonderful artist and author.

There are so many books out there that will interest children around the world. Pity the children whose parents have never read to them.  It’s a great tradition that David and I started with our daughters, Maria and Lisa.  Maria is continuing this tradition with her own children.

8 Responses to “Children’s books”

  1. DJan Says:

    Those are some very interesting book, Gigi. I will see if I can get them from the library to read myself! 🙂

  2. Christine Says:

    I love this post Gigi!

  3. Christine Says:

    I have saved some of my children’s books, hopefully one day I can pass them on as well. I must remember not to give them away.

  4. dkzody Says:

    My daughter takes the kids to the library on a weekly basis. They always bring home a stack of books and Leeya reads hers very quickly and wants to go back. Reading is such a good activity for children. And grownups!

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    You are following the great advice …. teach your children well.

  6. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I know nothing about children’s books. My DIL works for a children’s book distributor and I rely on her. Or my daughter and granddaughter who are elementary school teachers. I hope your kids enjoy these books.

  7. Olga Says:

    I really loved the time I spent reading to my kids. My son always wanted a favorite read over and over again. My daughter was always prepared with a pile and just kept passing me “another one!”

    I once watched a mother reading to her daughter in the doctor’s office waiting room. She was reading Dr. Seuss, Marvin K. Mooney Will You please Go Now. Easy, repetitive reading but she was sounding out every single word. It was one of the most touching scenarios I have ever seen.

  8. books for children Says:

    Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to
    everything. Do you have any recommendations for beginner blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

