Staples removed at Straub Clinic

On Wednesday, I drove David to Straub Clinic to have his staples removed from his right knee by the physician’s assistant. Here is his wound without the staples and held together temporarily with white strips:

Staples removed 002-A

Staples removed 003-A

It was swollen at first, but when David got home, he placed an ice blanket on his wound, and it looks less swollen now.  These photos were taken after the icing.

Those blue strips on the side of his leg were placed there by the physical therapist on Tuesday in order to reduce swelling.

It bothered me that David was so effusive and positive about his condition when queried by a nurse from Humana Insurance Company.  “Oh, yes,” he said, “I am doing very well.  Pain level is minimal.  I am doing better this year than last year.”

Then, a few hours later, he tells ME the truth, “The pain is terrible.  My knee throbs.  I wish I could take Oxycodone more frequently.  It’s hard to wait 6-8 hours for my next dose.  My leg still feels stiff.  It’s not as flexible as I would like.  I wonder when I will be able to drive again.”

Why couldn’t he have told the nurse the truth?  Why was he so macho that he had to lie?  It seems that he only tells me the truth.

David will undergo physical therapy for the next two months, and have a follow up visit for X-rays of both knees in August.

It isn’t over until it’s over.

10 Responses to “Staples removed at Straub Clinic”

  1. Carole Says:

    Knee is looking good. I haven’t heard about the blue strips to reduce swelling. I’ll have to read about that. Hopefully before too long you’ll be able to take off your nurses cap 🙂

  2. DJan Says:

    Gosh, it looks painful to me, even if we are talking about a complete knee replacement. But it seems to me it’s all going along as it should. Thanks for the updates, Gigi. 🙂

  3. dkzody Says:

    His need for an opioid is scary. That stuff is so addictive. We are hearing terrible stories about people becoming addicted to these drugs.

  4. Christine Says:

    the time will pass, things are progressing anyway!

  5. Beatrice Says:

    Perhaps you would do well to rely David’s concerns to the nurse as he seems unable to do so. Of course, he may be quite upset, but then if he doesn’t want to admit what’s really going on he should not have told you.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    The surgery is held together by staples and tape. Who would have thunk?!? Anyway, hope the pain lessens and all goes well form here.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I think you should call the doctor and tell them the truth. It might not help, but it could. They need to know his true condition.
    Last time we had an update, you didn’t know if David had infection an an allergic reaction. What was the verdict?

    • gigihawaii Says:

      He was prescribed Bactrim, an antibiotic. It seems to be helping the infection if it was indeed an infection. Anyway, he took his last dose today.

  8. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Most men don’t tell their true feelings to the doctors or physician assistant..Oxycodone is a highly addictive opiate, with horror stories in our small town, the rate of getting addicted is horrible! Call your physician and or physician assistant immediately..It is his life and health at risk, he needs the doctor or p/a to know what is up, he needs some help!

  9. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I don’t know why they have to act like tough guys. Beats me. David has to watch the oxycodone. Its addictive.

Leave a Reply

