David and alcohol

This is the wine glass cabinet that David assembled in January, with the help of our grandkids:

Grandkids, bookcase 030-A

Wine glass cabinet 004-A

These wine glasses vary in size:

Kids books, wine glasses 004-A

It’s so ironic that I bought the wine glass cabinet and wine glasses, because I no longer drink alcohol. Previously, I had drunk wine as an aperitif prior to dinner at a restaurant or as a single drink at a party.  Now, I find that alcohol hurts my stomach, my brain, and my skin.  There’s nothing worse than a red faced woman with a stomach ache and a redundant mind.

However, I am glad I bought the cabinet and glasses, as they are useful for large parties.

David is fond of alcohol. Like most men, he prefers beer.  He used to drink a six pack every night, but I have gotten him down to three beers per week or two beers at a party.  The last thing I want is for him to DUI and get into serious trouble with the law.

You don’t know how embarrassed I was when David drank more than he should have and fell asleep at a party. The next day, I scolded him.  He hasn’t embarrassed me since then.

All it takes is a woman like me to keep a guy like my husband in line.

6 Responses to “David and alcohol”

  1. DJan Says:

    I enjoy a glass of wine or a beer myself. I’m glad my hubby, who doesn’t drink, isn’t bothered by my indulgences. I don’t drive after I’ve had anything to drink, though. 🙂

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    David must not be an alcoholic. No one can control an alcoholic. This is the lesson you learn in Al-Anon, or forliving with an alcoholic.
    However anyone over their limit can get a DUI. In VA the cops slap you in ankle bracelets and cart your behind to the county jail.

  3. Christine Says:

    you sure do keep him in line, haha.

  4. Carole Says:

    One drink does it for me. My tolerance for alcohol is very low. Same with my hubby. It’s something that has changed with age for us. So, a glass of wine with dinner once in a while is about all I can handle. And, I should add, it puts me right to sleep 🙂

  5. Tom Sightings Says:

    Is it a symptom of age? I used to drink my share; but in the last few years I find all a drink does is give me a headache. So now it’s about one beer per month.

  6. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Alcohol addiction is rampant in my dads family and my family and my hubs father took to it like it was water preferring it to food and money for necessities, with 8 kids he destroyed his family..Many in my hubs family still are addicted, I wish for a world that is alcohol free, what a waste of money, and lots of grief, what is wrong with people who put it before their own health and the lives of their families?????? Aloha to you and david in paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

