Two mottos to live by

1979-1982-1-a

Me and Maria (1979).

In a nutshell, there are two mottos to live by:

QUIT BEATING YOURSELF UP. You may be full of regrets.  But, you can’t change the past.  No woulda, coulda, shoulda.  Move forward.

STOP THROWING STONES. Stop attacking people and finding fault.  People who throw stones are so mean and petty.

My father said it all, when he said this to me: “Despite your illness and all of those obstacles in your life, I am so impressed with what you have managed to accomplish.  You have a magnificent home, you are still married to David, and you have very successful children, too.  I am very proud to be your father.”

This kind of praise lifted me out of my depression, because all of my life I have been beating myself up. I am my own worst critic.  When I heard these words from my father, I felt so much better.  I can put my life into perspective, now.

Yet, people keep throwing stones at me, trying to make me feel inferior. I try not to let it get to me.

After all, how many 70 year old women have what I have?

8 Responses to “Two mottos to live by”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Sound like the sort of people I would avoid, if possible. And sometimes it just isn’t possible.

  2. Linda Starr Says:

    I too am my own worst enemy and fight to let the water roll off my back from others and the past, thanks for your quotes.

  3. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Please don’t beat yourself up, I am married to an eternal optimist and he grew up in a terrible home life with parents who did not parent, clean and provide for 8 kids! He treats me like a queen and is hopeful, optimistic and happy…He never says untoward or unkind things to anyone, he is kind and loving to his siblings who are in my opinion just plain nuts, but it is his blood and his familia..I remember that when I want to complain about them, which I hold my tongue..I have nothing to do with the tribe I came from, my friends are my familia and they talk and treat me well, I too came from a horrible familia my mother a saint died very young I was young too, my dad took to drink, I had to travel about 1,400 miles to be with my grandmother to go to college and work and she died just before my graduation, that what is painful makes a person have more character…I met my hubs and we have been married 42 years and are happy, keep your chin up and be proud you are such a loving person and wonderful mother and wonderful wife, you endure your illness with great courage! Do not listen to the naysayers as you are wonderful inside and out! ALOHA sweet lady in Hawaii!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Carole Says:

    I’ve always believed that one of the secrets to a happy life is to surround yourself with good-hearted, kind people. Try to eliminate those who are negative, as they do not bring goodness to your life. You deserve the best Gigi!

  5. Christine Says:

    Great advice. Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

  6. DJan Says:

    I agree with your two mottos. And I try to remember that everyone appreciates a compliment, even me! 🙂

  7. Olga Says:

    Wise and timely mottos.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Beautiful photo.. You have done very well. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

