And so it goes…

sailboats-photo-a

Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.  2008.

Tropical Storm Darby did not affect my property very much, because my yard drains well. The humidity, however, was awful.  You could have cut the atmosphere with a knife.  We had the air conditioner on full blast.  Anyway, that storm is over.  Bring on the next.

On Tuesday, David drove to Dole Theater to watch “Star Trek.”  The movie was great, but the elevators in the parking structure were broken due to the storm.  He had to walk up and down the staircase, which seemed like nine floors because the steps seemed so steep.  Fortunately, he had brought his cane instead of his walker, so the steps were navigable.

I have told everyone that I will host Christmas, but not Thanksgiving this year. I am such an old fut that I no longer can do as much as before.  It will be nice if someone steps up to the plate and hosts Thanksgiving for a change.

And so it goes…

12 Responses to “And so it goes…”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I hope your family gatherings continue forever.

  2. DJan Says:

    Glad David was able to navigate those stairs! I’m going to see that movie, too. I think you are wise to pick and choose what you want to host for the holidays. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    glad you survived that storm

  4. Carole Says:

    Good for you on sharing the holiday entertaining responsibilities. I bet someone will step up and offer for the Thanksgiving holiday.

  5. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I used to host lots of dinners for my mother in law and criminal sons, my hubs brothers, she has been gone from this world for 16 years this December 17, I no longer do one dadblasted thing..I used to cook feasts for people who had babies, I don’t do that anymore, people are not grateful to me or my family..I did what I could when I could, my new oven and new fridge, dishwasher, sink and disposal I waited 16 plus years to get, I can no longer afford to host any gatherings, but I do volunteer for the domestic violence place, cook and clean and listen, & I do cook and bake at the food pantry, the people always thank me and I do buy food at a store for these places..One gets to a point they cannot do dinners anymore..Don’t beat yourself up, you are thoughtful, kind and generous to your family & I pray and chant for your health to get better and that your hubs does too! Aloha!

  6. Linda Starr Says:

    what a lovely sunset, been years since we went to a theatre showing of a movie, and the same for holiday dinners, although today I got a small glass dish divided in three for small amount of condiments, I still have hope for the future and serving in style with glass dishes of yesteryear.

  7. Olga Says:

    It is nice to be able to host family and friends for holiday celebrations, and it is also very nice to be a guest. Sounds like David is doing well with the new knee.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I wondered how the big storm would affect where you are. Glad it was not destructive.

  9. Kay G. Says:

    OH, I am sorry that David had to navigate the stairs but glad he made it. Glad you made it through the storm also.
    Someone else can do Thanksgiving this year! xx

  10. Joared Says:

    My good friend whose family lives all,over So Cal has tried to give up her family holiday responsibilty as others in the older generation died, but the younger people don’t seem as interested in continuing these gatherings. Enjoy yours!

  11. dkzody Says:

    You certainly are planning ahead! I know they will come, but Thanksgiving and Christmas seem ages away. I just wait until the season arrives and see what others want to do. I offer nothing until then.

  12. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Time for others to take the lead for sure. David’s walk sounds awful. I hope the movie was worth it.

Leave a Reply

