Animals and us

Most of you have come in contact with a dog, cat, or bird.  But, how many of you have actually ridden an elephant or camel?  Well, here are a few photos of the kinds of animals David and I have come in contact with in recent years.

Waikoloa, Hawaii (the Big Island), 2011.  Kissing dolphins in the Hilton Waikoloa Lagoon:

dolphin kiss-2011-david-A

dolphin kiss-2011-glenda-A

IMG_1065

Then, in 2012, we rode an elephant in Jaipur, India:

elephant ride

Elephant ride India 2012-A

We watched a real cobra sway to music in Varanasi, India.  The woman next to the snake charmer was a tourist in our group:

4 points wind palace water palace elephant amber ft 069-A

On the way to Agra, India, David rode a camel:

India-camel ride (al rho)-a

Agra Fort camel ride 016-A

In 2013, David kissed a baby alligator in Everglades, Florida:

Everglades 114-A

I held the same baby alligator:

Everglades 111-A

Polar Bears in Tokyo (2008):

tokyo-zoo-polar-bears-a

And this is the Giant Panda we saw in Hong Kong (2010):

070

072

So, it is rather boring to pet a cat, isn’t it?  David petted Cutey in 2010:

awol-5-A

Wonderful memories!

7 Responses to “Animals and us”

  1. coffeeonthebeach Says:

    Love the Cobra pic – I just can’t even imagine! lol I have a story though…last week I walked in my bedroom thinking there was a Cobra in there. There was something that looked just like a Cobra all wrapped around with a head poppin’ up. It was poop! lol lol Roger who refused to “go” out in the rain, decided to lay up a good one on my carpet in the back bedroom and it looked just like a Cobra. Upon natural instinct, I reached for my phone (camera) to take a pic. I stopped and said to myself, “what am I doing? This is POOP”. And stopped myself. But oh my gosh it looked just like a little Cobra! lol

  2. Backporchwriter Says:

    By the way…my blog is Back Porch Tales…that is my main blog on blogger. I rarely use the WordPress blog/sign on. When I left my comment it defaulted to word press. But my main blog is with google. http://backporchtales.blogspot.com/

  3. Christine Says:

    I am not ready to ride an elephant or camel I think. I’ve also stopped doing scary rides and waterslides although I used to love them.

  4. DJan Says:

    Those are some pretty exciting memories to have, Gigi. I’m so glad you have pictures to share, too. Thank you. 🙂

  5. Olga Says:

    You have certainly had some wonderful travels…what great memories attached to each of those photos.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    Exciting adventures, for sure! I’ll take petting a cat!

  7. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    David looks happier with the cat than the camel!

Leave a Reply

