What people do for fun

pink hibiscus-1-A

Hibiscus in Hawaii.  Photos by Ted Trimmer.  2009.

red hibiscus-1-A

As you know, I have been blogging for a very long time. November 20, 2016 will mark my tenth blog anniversary.  I blog for fun.  I enjoy taking photos, posting them, and writing a short essay below the photos.  What’s so hard about that?

David refuses to start a blog, because it would be too stressful for him to come up with a new topic. Blogging is not his idea of fun.  He would rather watch TV than blog.

David is not creative, but he is analytical. He exercises his intellect by shopping at Target and Costco.  He is very good at getting the best value for the price.  He claims that ever since he took over the grocery shopping, we have managed to save at least $100 per month.  Well, go for it, David.  If you enjoy analyzing and comparing prices, more power to you.  I won’t stand in your way.

On the other hand, we both studied classical music in college. His instrument was the clarinet, and mine was the violin.  After our marriage in 1980, we stopped playing our instruments and sold them.  Oddly enough, we don’t miss playing them.  We prefer to listen to other musicians perform, either on CDs or at the concert hall.

Though we don’t have blogging in common, we do love classical music and enjoy listening to it on a daily basis.

10 Responses to “What people do for fun”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    I definitely would leave groceries to the expert.

  2. Olga Says:

    I am sure your training as musicians contributes in a very positive way to your mutual enjoyment of classical music. Personally, I always liked having activities that my husband and I did on our own as well as those activities that we liked to do together.

  3. Christine Says:

    I think I’ve been blogging for just about as long. I should check my archives. I enjoy doing groceries but don’t check the prices as well as I should, I tend to just get what I like if the price seems reasonable

  4. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    my hubs worked in the grocery business his entire life, he knows what costs what and the price per ounce, however that being said he doesn’t do the shopping, he prefers stuff we don’t really use that much, so I get what we need..He worked so hard and people were not nice and the other employees okay, the management worse then Donald trump spewing his hate he retired early enough to get some pension, most of the men and women died in their sleep one week after retiring the companies took the very life out of them, my hubs said hell to the no and is happy, me I work & volunteer but we are at the coast a lot and the sea soothes me and my hubs, love your blog keep blogging…aloha in paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Sounds like Kismet that you were in different parts of the orchestra, he in winds and you and strings, and found each other. Congratulations on the blog anniversary.

  6. Carole Says:

    Wow, congratulations on 10 years! Love your blog. And your photos are beautiful!

  7. Kay G. Says:

    Oh, come on David, you know you want to have your own blog!!
    I wish I could hear you both play! I have a CD of waltzes and that is my very favorite music.

  8. Tom Sightings Says:

    Shopping at Costco instead of blogging? Actually, yeah, I can see that!

  9. Beatrice Says:

    Enjoying different pastimes is what makes life more interesting. Even though Grenville and I share our blog and he does enjoy it, I am the main contributor. We do the shopping together most weeks.

  10. DJan Says:

    My hubby is the shopper and is much more meticulous than I am. He would never enjoy blogging, but I sure do. And reading other blogs is very informative for me. Good thing we’re all different. 🙂

Leave a Reply

