Self-supporting and independent

4-24-10-hawaii yacht club-A

Hawaii.  Photo by Ted Trimmer.  2009.

There’s a Hepatitis A outbreak in Hawaii, especially on Oahu where I live. Thank goodness David and I were vaccinated against Hepatitis A and B prior to our trip to India in 2012.  So, we are unconcerned that we will be affected by the outbreak.  We can dine at restaurants without fear that we will get sick from contaminated food.

There are so many things to be grateful for. Our children are very fortunate that David and I are self-supporting and independent.  We never ask them for help of any kind, whether financial or otherwise.  In fact, they ask us for help, which we provide without question.

My mother and mother in law never drove and never owned a car. My mother caught the bus, and my mother in law relied on the Handy Van.  At age 70, I can do so much more than these two women could at my age.  How glad I am that I own a car and can drive without asking my kids or husband to drive me.  That in itself is a blessing.

David and I have never had a heart attack, stroke, diabetes, or cancer.   We are not blind or deaf.  Nor do we have dementia.

Hey, if I ever stop blogging, you will definitely know that I have dementia. Nothing else, short of death, will ever keep me from blogging.

8 Responses to “Self-supporting and independent”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    The old saying, If you have your health, you’re wealthy.

  2. DJan Says:

    I agree with Joanne. I feel very fortunate to have my health, as do you. 🙂

  3. Carole Says:

    Agree, good health should never be taken for granted. So glad that you and David are enjoying good health, and all the benefits that it provides.

  4. Christine Says:

    you and your kids are blessed Gigi!

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    It’s good to acknowledge our blessings and express gratitude.

  6. Tom Sightings Says:

    Thank you to our better educations, improved lifestyles . . . and, especially, to modern medicine.

  7. DeniseinVA Says:

    Yes we are all very blessed and if we have good health we are rich beyond measure.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    That’s good to know. I enjoy your blog.

Leave a Reply

