Hiking up Diamond Head

In March 2011, David borrowed my camera and hiked up Diamond Head, an extinct volcano on Oahu.  This hike occurred long before his knee replacement surgeries in 2015 and 2016.  I give him a lot of credit for making this strenuous hike, which I made in 1966 as a college student, but have never made again since then.  As I said, it is strenuous.

Here are some of the photos he took in 2011.  Note the panoramic views from the top of the crater:

DHead-1-A

DHead-2-inside crater-A

DHead-3-seascape-A

DHead-4-high rises-A

DHead-5-A

DHead-6-A

DHead-7-A

DHead-8-A

DHead-9-A

DHead-10-A

It remains to be seen if David will ever hike again with his new knees.  Maybe he will, maybe he won’t.  Me?  I don’t think I will.  Once was enough for me.  Some people do have a heart attack while hiking up this steep volcano.

 

6 Responses to “Hiking up Diamond Head”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    It certainly is a long way up.

  2. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    The views are magnificent indeed..I would just look at your photos and call it a day..My back and legs would give out and that would be that..Enjoy your weekend and aloha, praying your health issues go away and that David your hubs is feeling great. alohaX()

  3. Christine Says:

    I would love to do that hike, we didn’t get to do it when we were there a couple of years ago.

  4. DJan Says:

    Wonderful pictures. Once is probably enough! 🙂

  5. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    While I lived in Hawaii, I did a lot of hiking. I hiked up Diamond Head, the Punchbowl, and along the Pali to the the Nuuanu Pass. And I also hiked on the windward side at the Girl Scout Camp and on private land.

    We hiked here, there and everywhere and camped many places mostly because I had a Girl Scout troop, although my first husband was a Marine, and he was used to “hiking.” and liked doing this. (My David is not an outdoor guy.)

    Some day, I will have to digitize all the photos I took. Not easy hiking these days with osteoarthritis. Regards to David.

  6. Carole Says:

    Those views are amazing! I’ve never been to Hawaii, but have always dreamed of visiting a volcano there. Thanks for sharing the pics!

Leave a Reply

