Kitchen duty

Some women cook and then make their husbands clean the dishes. I used to be one of those women.  But, David was such a lousy cleaner, I decided to take over completely.  After all, David is not a child.  You can’t tell him to wash the frying pan all over again due to left over fried egg in the pan.  He is definitely blind when it comes to cleaning stuff thoroughly.  It’s a major disability, in my opinion.  Ah, the poor guy.

I actually enjoy kitchen duty, though. It makes me very happy to prepare a fantastic meal for hubby and myself, and I love making my dishes, pots, pans, and utensils sparkle after the meal.

I do get help from my Whirlpool dishwasher, but I do have to pre-scrub the food off the dishes, first:

Dishes 001-A

But, look at the stuff that does not go into the dishwasher.  I clean them manually:

Dishes 008-A

David keeps saying how grateful he is to have a wife like me! One who cooks and cleans!

9 Responses to “Kitchen duty”

  1. Olga Says:

    My husband would do the dishes and also do an excellent job. However, he would do the dinner dishes in the morning and I did not like to see a pile of unwashed dishes in the morning or think about them being in the sink over night. So i took over the job. Sneaky how they get us to take over. Haha!

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Not me sister. Even as I write, David is doing dishes. I fix breakfast most mornings, and then improvise the rest of the day. Cooking never has been my forte. My sons are great cooks, as is my SIL.

  3. Christine Says:

    David is right!

  4. Carole Says:

    I think it makes all the difference in the world when your spouse appreciates all of your efforts. When the appreciation is not there, it’s hard to put the time and effort into it. Glad that you and David have a system that works for you 🙂

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    Our dishwasher broke down years ago and we didn’t bother replacing it as we found that washing up for the two of us wasn’t so bad. Gregg is a good dishwasher and actually enjoys helping out. His mother taught her children how to wash dishes and to this day he does it without even thinking. I am very thankful to my Mother-in-law for so many things, this is just one of them.

  6. Joared Says:

    I recall my husband developed what I decided was learned helplessness (when you resent or don’t want to do something — sometimes unconscious, sometimes deliberate) for even loading the dishwasher properly though there was a picture inside on the door years ago when our children young. I guess I had spoiled him by doing so much before I went to grad. school.

    Earlier this year I replaced my old dishwasher as it had problems. The new one has the same issue so guess it’s not the dishwasher. May be the water hose so need to get someone out to repair. Meanwhile I just wash what few dishes I use by hand as I go along.

    My son, especially, loves to cook and enjoys doing so. He and his wife share the cooking which is ideal, I think, when both are busy with work, grandchild and other activities.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I guess we all work out our own systems. i consider myself very fortunate that Tom has always done the dinner dishes. I do all of the cooking and the grocery shopping. I so appreciate his doing the dishes. I put away any left overs and help dry the dishes and put them away. We both work until the job is done. But I hate washing the dishes. He doesn’t mind it, and he does a good job.

  8. DJan Says:

    My hubby doesn’t like me to wash the dishes because he says I don’t do a good enough job. I don’t mind a bit! 🙂

  9. Beatrice Says:

    It’s what works best for you both that matters, Gigi, and apparently you and David have a good system and one which is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

