A fly on a suicide mission

Hawaii:  My family at The Willows, an open air restaurant, in 2014.  David and I were seated at the far end of the table:

Willows 010-A

It was there that a fly on a suicide mission dove into my potato salad and died instantly. No wriggling or thrashing about.  That fly did not move a leg or wing.  Boy, the potato salad must have been lethal for that fly.

So, what did I do? I ate the salad around the fly.

When I told David about it later, he said, “Why didn’t you scoop it up with a spoon?”

I replied, “I didn’t want to put that spoonful of fly and salad on the white tablecloth. It would have been embarrassing.”

Ugh. What a nightmare.

As you know, I have traveled extensively. I lived in Munich, Germany for 1-1/2 months back in 1969-1970.  It was there that I tasted German potato salad for the first and last time.  I didn’t like it, because it was made with vinegar and sugar.  Sour potato salad does not appeal to me.

In Hawaii, Aunty Jennie made her potato salad with tuna and peas. I didn’t care for it, either, as tuna does not go with potatoes, in my opinion.

But, Aunty Helen made THE BEST potato salad, ever. I remember standing next to her in my grandmother’s kitchen, observing how she made it.  Just the basics:  Potatoes, eggs, celery, onions, mayonnaise, salt and pepper with a sprinkling of paprika on top.  Excellent!

You probably have your own favorite recipe for potato salad.

Just don’t let a fly on a suicide mission dive into your salad. Ew.

10 Responses to “A fly on a suicide mission”

  1. Joanne Noragon Says:

    My mother made both kinds; Aunty Helen’s and German. Both were good.

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I’m making potato salad today using my mom’s recipe. I also added a touch of celery salt and mustard. Does wonders for this dish. My mom made the German kind a time or two but we kids wouldn’t eat it so she gave up.

  3. Olga Says:

    My sister once found a fried fly in her pile of fried clams. She also ate around it and then called the waiter over and got a free order of clams. She really likes fried clams.

  4. DJan Says:

    I rarely eat potato salad, or potatoes in general for that matter. But I’ve never had any that I simply loved. That would probably make a difference. 🙂

  5. DeniseinVA Says:

    I love a good potato salad, you’ve given me a good idea, minus the extra protein of course 😉

  6. Christine Says:

    I love potato salad, we got a great red potato salad from Costco, but it may be a bit acidic for your taste. Funny how you ate around the fly, and good you didn’t waste it. Poor fly though!

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I will be making potato salad this weekend for our annual family picnic. I use Yukon Gold potatoes, eggs, chives, dill pickles, and mayonnaise and Dijon mustard. Salt and pepper. Hopefully no flies.

  8. Carole Says:

    I like to add a little mustard to my potato salad. Otherwise, the recipe is the same. Yummy! You made me laugh with the fly story. I think I would have handled it the same way 🙂

  9. dkzody Says:

    I made potato salad yesterday and we had some for dinner this evening. Terry nor I like eggs, especially hard boiled eggs, so those are left out. Yukon gold potatoes make the best salad. I use celery, red onion, and sweet pickles. My dressing is mustard, a special ranch dressing that I buy at Whole Foods, and Best Foods mayonnaise.

  10. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    I make a killer potato salad potatoes Yukon gold with an egg for every spud I use, pickles, tiny white onions which are sweet and some mayonnaise, celery seed ground up and paprika and half eggs on the top of the salad chilled well, covered..Everyone who dines on my potato salad adores it just like my stuffing for the turkey and chickens I make at the holidays..I would never use vinegar in my spud salad nor do I use sweet gherkins..I learned to cook very young and I consider myself a good chef..Happy Labor Day and hopefully you will escape the storms headed out your way..grrrrr…aloha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

