Images of me in Thailand

In 1969 at age 23, I traveled to Bangkok, Thailand to marry an American man, who was working on his Ph.D. dissertation in political science.  It turned out that he did not want me and he left me high and dry there, not knowing the Thai language, history, or culture.  David said that if it had happened to him, he would have flown back home to Hawaii.  Instead, I remained in Bangkok, residing at the YWCA, and found work as an English teacher at Thammasat University, AUA Language Center, and Voice of America.  I also had many private students.

Here are images of me during the ten months I stayed in Thailand.

I am the one in the long orange gown, attending a Thai wedding reception with some of my students:

thailand-students-5-A

I was invited to lunch at a Korean restaurant in Bangkok by my Korean student, who was a businessman (far left):

thailand-students-3-A

At AUA Language Center, I taught Thai students who were going to study at universities in America:

thailand-students-4-A

Me at the Marble Temple in Bangkok:

thailand-marble temple-2a-A

thailand-marble temple-5-A

thailand-marble temple-4-A

thailand-marble temple-3-A

It was fun while it lasted.  After ten months, I left Thailand and traveled through Europe for three months.  Then, I flew to New York City, where I lived for 5-1/2 years, studying music at Columbia University.  After seven years abroad, I returned to Hawaii in 1975 at age 29.  And here I am, still alive at 70, married to David, and enjoying a very good retirement.

12 Responses to “Images of me in Thailand”

  1. DJan Says:

    You made me wonder where I was in 1969 and what I looked like. I don’t think I have any pictures at all. Life and time have a way of changing us, don’t they? That was almost sixty years ago now! 🙂

  2. Carole Says:

    Thanks for sharing the photos. What a nice trip down memory lane! I’m sure it all come back to you when you look at the photos 🙂

  3. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Your travels have taken you to wonderful countries and people..Travel in my opinion makes ones world wiser, stronger, more tolerant and the beauty cannot be compared..Good you live in a state that promotes long life and has familia ties strong..Not so much on the mainland, aloha and peace and joy always!

  4. dkzody Says:

    And still taking pictures, I see. What an adventuresome girl you were. I have never gotten very far from where I was in 1969. I was a senior in high school. When I graduated in 1970 I moved 25 miles to go to college and never left while you’ve been around the world.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    You have had quite the interesting life! In 1969 I was in my third year of teaching and I married the teacher across the hall. The next year I was required to change schools.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    You have an adventurous soul Gigi and a brave one. It must have been quite an experience.

  7. Christine Says:

    This was a wonderful look back Gigi, thanks for sharing. So sorry about that terrible man.

  8. Kay G. Says:

    Gee, that American must have been nuts to have left you high and dry! Good thing for our hero, David, who got such a great gal!
    What great pictures! Are you certain you didn’t model and you just don’t want to brag?

  9. Tom Sightings Says:

    I wish I had your adventuresome spirit when I was that age. (I’ve never been west of Calif.)

  10. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Wow, you turned lemons into lemonade and really got around. We were so thin in those days, weren’t we?

  11. social media site Says:

    social media site

    Images of me in Thailand | gigi-hawaii

  12. latest beauty trends Says:

    latest beauty trends

    Images of me in Thailand | gigi-hawaii

Leave a Reply

