Still alive at 70

glenda12-a.jpg

1969:  Marijuana being sold at an open market in Laos.

I am the first sibling to reach the age of 70. My brother, Dathan, died at 55 of Hepatitis C, my brother in law, Pete, died at 65 of lymphoma, and my former brother in law, Gary, died at 53 of a heart attack.  My sister in law, Pat, died at 73 in a traffic accident.

It truly baffles a lot of people that I survived a trip around the world by myself. President Obama mentioned recently that the USA waged a “secret war” in Laos, dropping more bombs there than in Germany and Japan combined.  Well, guess what, I traveled to Laos three times in 1969 in order to renew my tourist visa to Thailand.  This was during the Vietnam War, when the USA was trying to eliminate the Communists in Laos.  What prevented me from being murdered and thrown into the Mekong River?  My parents would not have known what had happened to me.  I would have been just another anonymous statistic during that war.

Then, I traveled through Europe.  I was very poor and stayed in student hostels, striving to live cheaply on $5.00 per day.  Thank goodness no one kidnapped me and sold me as a sex slave.

When I lived in New York City, I was robbed at gun point. Hey, never argue with a gun.  I gave the robber my wallet, and he let me go.

It was night time in Hawaii when I was pounced upon by a man, who had been following me from the university to my home in Manoa. I screamed so loudly that he fled down the street.

Whew! There is so much danger out there.  I am amazed that I am still alive.

I eat red meat and don’t exercise. But, my heart keeps beating, and every morning I wake up to another beautiful day.

9 Responses to “Still alive at 70”

  1. Olga Says:

    As they say, you have nine lives like a cat. Keep on enjoying life.

  2. DJan Says:

    I am 73 and enjoying life very much. Glad you are still around, too! 🙂

  3. Joanne Noragon Says:

    As a friend says, “I’m on the right side of the grass.”

  4. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Dangers lurk everywhere. You are a survivor.

  5. Christine Says:

    you are a born survivor, perhaps it helps to be smart about it, make wise choices as we go along.

  6. DeniseinVA Says:

    You have an adventurer’s soul Gigi. And some amazing memories.

  7. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    You keep going because you are not afraid..Better to give someone your wallet than be killed and rape is rampant here in our tiny community! I say seize the day, I travelled alone in California and lived to tell my truth, Manson was there and many things happened in California but it did not detour me from living..Everyone thinks where we lived in Aurora Colorado it was safe well hells bells I walked right past everyday to my job at the VA hospital where that killer of the many people in that brand new aurora theater lived and no one did anything to me I was diligent only walked in broad daylight and I knew to kick and scream and fight for my life I took 2 self defense courses from the Denver police and I was a newly wed but it was provided by my work federal govt. work. I say why let the deadbeats of our society dictate where and when a person can walk and go to a movie, etc..You are living because you have good and great peace and Karma and love..keep happy and enjoy your many days and nights in paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I can see how you had enough material to write three books!

  9. Beatrice Says:

    Your life has been a series of adventures and you have survived even the harrowing ones, Gigi. You are resilant and wishing you many more years of good and safe living.

Leave a Reply

