Senior moment

On Monday, I had an appointment with my hairstylist. I put on my shoes.  Then, I dug into my purse for my car key, but it was not there.  I checked my dresser, all of the drawers, but still no car key.

I told David to check my car trunk, because I remembered opening it to get my parcels purchased at the store on Sunday.

So, there I was with the phone in my hand, prepared to cancel my hair appointment, when David yelled, “Hang up the phone. Here’s your key.  It was dangling from the car trunk lock.”

car-key-002-a

It’s a good thing no one stole my car.  And, yes, I do have a spare key in the filing cabinet.

12 Responses to “Senior moment”

  1. Olga Says:

    If losing keys is a senior moment, I have been having senior moments since I was old enough to have keys of my own.

  2. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    Welcome to second childhood. It happens to all of us sooner or later.

  3. Linda Starr Says:

    I think women have senior moments because they have so much to keep track of and so much on their mind, it’s hard to keep them all separated all the time; that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Ha.

  4. DJan Says:

    Been there, done that! Once they were in the car door overnight. 🙂

  5. Christine Says:

    oh thank goodness, this happens to everyone at some time or another usually when you are rushing around

  6. Honolulu Aunty Says:

    I now have a car that has keyless entry, or whatever it is they call it. It is quite wonderful, now that I am used to having it, and I don’t ever have to take it out of my bag to start the car, so it is always in my bag.
    I told my son to invent a “find my car” and “find my keys”, and “find my glasses” app since I am getting less inclined to pay attention to where I leave things. It is fun getting older and being able to chuckle at these senior moments.

  7. Kay G. Says:

    Oh dear, don’t worry too much about it! Think of putting your keys in your bag in the SAME EXACT PLACE and it will help you. Do the same thing with credit cards, driver’s license, etc. I tell people, put the things where they want to live and everyone will be happy!

  8. DeniseinVA Says:

    Smiling here Gigi. Have been known to not leave certain things in the same place twice; keys, purse, sunglasses, phone, etc.

  9. Jennifer Fliegel Says:

    We’ve all done it. The car, the door. Keys just love to be in locks. Sometimes they go back when you aren’t looking.

  10. Carole Says:

    Yes, we are at that age where we can look forward to more of these senior moments. No worries though, unless you put your keys in the refrigerator! 🙂

  11. Joared Says:

    Glad David found your keys — that no one else noticed them first. We don’t think so much about it when we’re younger and misplace items, but we begin to become more concerned as we age — often wondering if it might mean something to give more thought to.

  12. Beatrice Says:

    Ah those senior moments that we all seem to have. Whenever I have misplaced something it always turns up in the LAST place I look…go figure. Glad that David found your keys and you could keep your appointment.

Leave a Reply

