Lovely London

piccadilly circus, london-A

Postcard photos of London, 1969.

tower bridge, london-A

As you all know, I worked as an English teacher in Thailand for ten months in 1969. After that stint was over, I flew from Thailand to London.  I intended to find work in London, but when I was at the airport, I was told, “You have a tourist visa.  You are not permitted to work here.  Don’t even bother looking.”

I would have loved to live there, because London is so beautiful. Best of all, the native language is English, and English is my native tongue.  When I walked down the street, an Englishman stopped and asked me, “Are you from Hong Kong?”  I replied, “No, I’m not.”  He then remarked, “Oh, you have a cute little American accent.”

Wow. I laugh now, because what is an American accent?  If you travel to different regions of the USA, you will hear different types of accents.  For example, compare the Southern drawl to the Massachusetts brogue.

Anyway, David and I went to the movie theater last week and enjoyed “Bridget Jones’ Baby.” It’s set in beautiful England, and how glorious it was to see British actors and actresses speak and behave in a British way.

Lovely movie. Go see it.

8 Responses to “Lovely London”

  1. Christine Says:

    Glad you liked the movie. I’ve never been to London, well, we did sit inside an airport en route to Europe once.

  2. DJan Says:

    London is a beautiful city, all right. I have another blogger friend who lives there and posts wonderful pictures of the sights. I’ve only traveled through, never stayed for any length of time.

  3. Olga Says:

    I have to admit I am a sucker for all things British.

  4. DeniseinVA Says:

    I love London. I was always a bit afraid of it when I was young (London was a place I visited on a very rare weekend with my mother and sister, for a shopping expedition. Harrods was a big draw to them. I was and still am not a shopper for shopping’s sake, and loathed crowded cities – I was living in a small village in Devon at the time and never wanted to leave it – lol) but going back as an older tourist I fell in love with it, loved the people I met too and look forward to returning one day.

  5. Carole Says:

    Thanks for the movie recommendation. I recently saw Sully and loved it.

    I’ve never been abroad (I don’t think the Caribbean or Mexico count). I hope some day to go to England and take the chunnel to France. It’s fun to dream 🙂

  6. Beatrice Says:

    London was fun when I visited once so many years ago. I hope to re-visit the country one day, until then I watch British-themed shows. Thanks for the movie recommendation. We plan to see this film as we’ve seen the first two in this series.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like London too, but is the English countryside and small villages that I like best.

  8. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    That’s what we think about residents of the UK which has as varied a mix of accents.

    When he was the director for US Navy housing in Europe. my son and his family lived in London on Wimple Street for a couple of years, just down feom Regents Park and near the US Embassy. Their son came home using English terms, like lift for elevator and bin for trash can.

    Back in the early 1960s my sister lived in England for a year or two and worked in East Anglia, on the coast in a holiday camp. One day, she spilled mint jelly all over one of the patrons and lost her job.

Leave a Reply

