A hibiscus garden

Here is my hibiscus garden so far. More hibiscus will be purchased later:

hibiscus-002-a

hibiscus-004-a

hibiscus-010-a

hibiscus-011-a

Aren’t hibiscus better than roses?  No thorns, more green leaves, and bigger flowers.

 

14 Responses to “A hibiscus garden”

  1. Carole Says:

    Just beautiful! In central NY we are winding down the season for growing flowers outdoors. I have some mums that will hold up for another few weeks, but otherwise my flowers are looking a little spent 🙂

    Thanks for sharing from beautiful Hawaii!

  2. DJan Says:

    I love hibiscus. They also don’t get aphids like roses do, but I still like roses a lot. 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    I really do like hibiscus. I have a large bush growing in my Florida yard. I should put a couple potted ones on my deck here in VT next summer.

  4. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Hibiscus beat roses, hands down. And you live where they can thrive outdoors, year round.

  5. dkzody Says:

    I love hibiscus but have never grown them. Some friends grow them and the flowers get to be the size of dinner plates. Wonderful flowers.

  6. Linda Starr Says:

    but no fragrance, am I correct? dh hates roses; I love them

  7. Christine Says:

    They are beautiful! Just have to keep them well-watered!

  8. Honolulu Aunty Says:

    I used to have hibiscus. I wanted to graft different ones on a host plant but never got around to doing it. Then they got either way too big and bushy (in the ground) or developed scales and died because I wasn’t caring for them as I should have.

    I saw absolutely lovely ones at a recent plant show at Washington Middle School last month. A woman is a hibiscus fanatic and develops new breeds – one of them even had a very nice fragrance!

    Niu Nursery deep in Hawaii Kai has some nice hibiscus varieties though not sure if they are still there since I have stopped checking them out.

    Your patio is looking lovely.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I noticed that the red ones I bought are more prolific than the pink ones I bought first. The red ones have more flowers every day whereas the pink ones bloom only every other day. The pink hibiscus are bigger, though.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    They are beautiful, to be sure.

  10. DeniseinVA Says:

    I love your hibiscus, and the color. They are going to be gorgeous. Looking forward to seeing them later too. Thank you for your sweet comment on my blog. It was wonderful meeting you both in DC and Hawaii, definite highlights. I look forward to that third time, hopefully not too long down the road.

  11. SchmidleysScribblins Says:

    I have a purple and white Hibiscus hedge at the back fence. The birds love it. I love your pretty red Hibiscus.

  12. Beatrice Says:

    These are beautifully colorful flowers, Gigi. There were several of these plants in large planters outside our apt building.

Leave a Reply

