Gone are the cats

Prior to 2010, the feral cat population in our neighborhood exploded. There were hundreds of cats everywhere, making poop in my yard and garden.  The stench was horrible:

3-kittens-2-a

So, we purchased a bag of cement, mixed it with water in our wheelbarrow, and shoveled it into our planter box. We also bought pavers and stones and laid them in our garden.  The cats stopped defecating in these areas:

side-patio-001-a

However, we had to deal with reproducing cats. I purchased a cage from the Humane Society and was able to capture the kittens and their mothers in our patio and take them to the Humane Society:

3kittens-1-a1

Since 2010, the cat population has dwindled. We assume they have been killed by some sort of disease.  What other reason could there be?  I am not a zoologist, so I wouldn’t know.

Suffice it to say, we are so relieved that we don’t have to deal with feral cats, anymore. We rarely see them.

I just hope rodents don’t take their place. The last thing we need is a rat or mouse invading our house.

If that happens, I would welcome a cat like this one:

kittens-3-a.jpg

6 Responses to “Gone are the cats”

  1. Christine Says:

    I also wonder what happened to all the cats.

  2. DJan Says:

    I hope those little kittens you captured were able to be adopted, but I fear they were destroyed. You had to do something, though, and you took control. 😦

  3. anonymousonthemainland! Says:

    Aren’t there no kill places in Hawaii? There are plenty here in Washington state I would never take any animal to our Humane Society, they would kill them quickly..I donate time and money and many blankies to a place in the Gorge and the lady who tends to it spends her days, time and money saving itty bitty kitty cats and doggies tossed at her front door, the city of Washougal Washington got involved to help her out, many people when they pass from this life leave money and donations to this place and I praise their interests, when I see blankies at garage sales and stuff I know she could use, I tell the people about it and they give me the stuff and I take it way way out to her, I cannot tell you how good I feel and how well I can sleep at night, we took in a ginger cat who was itty bitty, fixed her up and she goes outside for one hour and in she marches and stays the whole dadblasted day, our older cat never liked her but oh, well he got used to her, both fixed animals and I get to pet a lot of those itty bitty kitty cats at the no kill shelter..It is located in an semi rural home and it gets mighty cold there snow and ice..so some people fixed her insulation up, built shelves and run around things for the kitty cats and painted it, I could not do that but gave the paint, it looks great now and ready for the many days of water and snow and ice that is predicted..Good you were able to catch and rlease the kitty cats, too bad no no kill shelter though!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. honoluluaunty91 Says:

    I used to see a lot of cats in the parking lot across from Costco Hawaii Kai, and some people would feed them. I also see a lot of chickens and roosters there too – funny how they can co-exist.

    You did good taking them to the Humane Society. People love kittens and adopt them. Haven’t been there since they did their renovation with a much improved and bigger “cat house”.

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    Cats and rats! We have a rat in our house, probably because our cat brought it in while we were traveling. she does things like that. We prefer them to be dead when she gifts us with them. We are working on strategies to get that rat, but so far he’s winning. Ugh.

  6. Joared Says:

    I love pets and in years past have had dogs and a special cat, but I do not welcome feral cats, or even my neighbors cats now. New neighbors fed the ferals for a while, unfortunately. Wandering cats at night here created havoc with dogs in fenced-in back yards at night. Our community was a dumping ground for cats for a few years, but coyotes seem to have resolved that problem. People now even have to keep their house pets inside, especially at night. Unfortunately, somebody’s cat must be allowed out at daylight, before I’m up, and it has chosen an area near my front door as it’s litter box. I’ve tried several things to repel but nothing works. The next remedy is said to be cayenne pepper so will get a restaurant size container and try that.

Leave a Reply

